1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support silent sound when taking photos?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by goku17, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. goku17

    goku17 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    how to silent sound when taking photo? anyone knows this please help! :D
    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    This is a default setting and there doesn't seem to be a way to do it on certain configurations. Someone suggested it was because of privacy laws in certain countries so that people know you are taking pictures.

    Some people have got a silent option in shutter sound, I am in the UK on Tmobile and I don't. Even in the paid for Vignette app (which is very good btw) I have an option to silence the shutter but it doesn't work.
     
  3. charlyee

    charlyee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    407
    40
    63
    Electrical Engineer
    Wisconsin, USA
    Hi there, I am on at&t in the US. While in the camera, I can go menu > advanced settings > shutter sound and I get 4 options and one of them is "silent ", I just tried it and it worked.
     
  4. arfanvilla

    arfanvilla Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    97
    2
    16

    i'm in the uk and on t-mobile - my camara can be silenced - stock and vignette.
     
  5. slugpace

    slugpace Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    95
    33
    23
    construction
    stockport
    I'm in the uk and tried several apps that claimed to have silent shutter but like rose red, they didn't work. The only one I have found that does work is

    Silent Camera - Android app on AppBrain

    The problem with this app is it is very basic and you lose a lot of settings, even zoom is gone.
     
  6. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    If you go into the service menu and press

    Menu Back Back Menu
    Back Menu Menu Back

    What info do you have on service info...

    Model Info: X10i, UK, T-Mobile
    Software Info: Software Version 1227-4612_R2BA026 GENERIC
    System Version 1227-4607_R2BA026 GENERIC
    Boot Version 1225-9698_8
    Customisation Versiom 1238-8324_R8A
    Content Version PB10

    Is there something different between our two Tmobile handsets.

    It doesn't bother me that I have the sound, it just bothers me that other people can turn their off and I can't:D:thinking:
     
  7. 6000

    6000 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I think that everyone has been on tenterhooks waiting to hear where a SE X10i on South Africa's MTN network stands on this issue.

    Well, wait no more, because I am here to tell you that via the CAMERA > ADVANCED SETTING > SHUTTER SOUND > OFF procedure...

    There is no shutter sound. Eet ees silent!

    Bring forth the clandestine photography in the unisex changing rooms!


    (not really, obviously) (cough)
     
  8. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    Bah humbug 6000, I really want to do clandestine photography at innappropriate times :eek: but my dumb smartphone won't let me:D

    Count yourself lucky that you have the elusive off button.
     
  9. 6000

    6000 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    The end of a cotton-wool ear bud, dampened slightly and inserted into the speaker of your X10, then secured in place with duct tape and fabric sticking plaster may muffle the sound enough for you to go all p0rno paparazzi...

    Now - back to finding a cure for cancer.
     
  10. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,656
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,656
    230
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    I am also in the UK and on T-Mobile, and I too cannot silence the shutter sound, even with 3rd party apps
     
  11. Merolas

    Merolas Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    413
    29
    43
    Male
    IT consultant
    Montreal
    DO you use the stock camera app?

    Then just open the app, MENU -> Advanced settings -> Shutter sound ->OFF

    You will have now a silent camera and take sneaky pictures...;)

    Edit:Oops.. just read that 6000 gave the answer first
     
  12. Gurba

    Gurba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    351
    14
    38
    Norway
    On my Norwegian no-brand X10i I get Peeping-Tom mode. Stuck to my shoe and auto-shoot next. :D
     
  13. xx_raj_xx

    xx_raj_xx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    88
    4
    16
    on uk voda and I have the silent option on mine.. peeping tom mode sounds cool... shall be tried LOL
     
  14. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    You are all very bad boys! :eek::D But its only cos I'm jealous.... stamps feet 'I want an off button too Mummy!'
     
  15. MrWomble

    MrWomble Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    774
    51
    78
    Newcastle - UK
    Hey ROSERED

    My silent mode works

    Model Info: X10i, UK, T-Mobile
    Software Info: Software Version 1227-4612_R2BA026 GENERIC
    System Version 1227-4607_R2BA026 GENERIC
    Boot Version 1226-2253 R8A013
    Customisation Version 1235-7379_R9A
    Content Version PB10

    Is my software version - again on T-Mob UK (although NOT a locked T-Mob handset as i get all mine at Carphone Warehouse)

    Simply cos my other half works for them and get staff discount
     
  16. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    Our customisation versions are different. Maybe that's the culprit. How annoying. I shall have to carry on using my Cannon DSLR with super long range telefoto lense to do my sneak pics!
     
  17. MrWomble

    MrWomble Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    774
    51
    78
    Newcastle - UK
    **hides behind nearest tree**
     
  18. goku17

    goku17 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    what is this..??
    how do i do it
     
  19. rosered

    rosered Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,129
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    2,129
    317
    163
    UK
    From the unlock screen press the menu (left silver key) or back (right silver key) in given sequence. You can test stuff in there too just to make sure its working, so you can then narrow things down to software/hardware issues.
     
  20. goku17

    goku17 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    thanks again...
    looks like u helped me in almost every problems i have rosered :D
     
  21. arfanvilla

    arfanvilla Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    97
    2
    16
    Model Info: X10i, France, Customized FR

    I bought my mobby from tinterweb and i knew it was from france - but what exactly does the above mean?
     

Share This Page

Loading...