1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General SIM card for CDMA GS4?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by smitty543, Apr 5, 2013.

  1. smitty543

    smitty543 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    639
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    639
    97
    78
    Will the Samsung Galaxy S4 have a slot for an international SIM card?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Liamo_210

    Liamo_210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    4,132
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    4,132
    781
    233
    Male
    Ireland
    What do you mean. Do you mean will it have a dual sim.
     
  3. smitty543

    smitty543 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    639
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    639
    97
    78
    Sorry, should have explained that I am interested in CDMA phone (Sprint) and would like phone to which I can add an international SIM card.
     
  4. Liamo_210

    Liamo_210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    4,132
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    4,132
    781
    233
    Male
    Ireland
    I would think so, as long as the international carrier used CDMA
     
    smitty543 likes this.
  5. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,730
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,730
    12,650
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Surely the question is for GSM/WCDMA roaming, like what are marketed stateside as "world phones" offer?

    The standard referred to as CDMA is not widespread outside North America.
     
  6. Liamo_210

    Liamo_210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    4,132
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    4,132
    781
    233
    Male
    Ireland
    True but it is available. As long as the phone has a gem/wxdma antenna swell then it will definetley work

    So when your about to get the device do some research to check what antennas its packed with.
     
  7. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    CDMA is available almost nowhere outside of the US. Everywhere else uses GSM. There are very few phones capable of both CDMA and GSM because it requires two hardware radios and practically no demand for it. I really doubt the S4 is going to have a CDMA+GSM variant. If you want a world phone that you can use in the States, you need to buy an unlocked international version (I9500/I9505) and use it on AT&T or T-Mobile.
     
  8. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    it still remains to be seen...but on the most recent devices Sprint has done an embedded sim...

    so the answer would be no if they do this on the s4....at least not without serious hardware modification to add the sim slot.

    a few members on xda have been working on this with the note2. I have not followed progress but here is the thread

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1959005
     
  9. lafester

    lafester Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    387
    88
    53
    This is what I'm waiting to find out as well. Someone said the ONE will have a removable sim (not confirmed yet) so I am hoping the s4 will be the same. Over at s4gru they are speculating that removable sims are coming but nobody knows when.
     
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,552
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,552
    16,992
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    As non-CDMA GS4s will use removeable SIM cards by design, I've retitled this topic to avoid unnecessary confusion. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...