1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Simple Desktop Charger

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Thom, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,082
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,082
    5,001
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I use a Bionic and previously used a Droid X.

    With the Droid X I had a "simple Motorola cradle" on a USB cable connected to my Windows 7 worksatatiuon. Easy to plug in. The connection was essentially to copy files from the workstation to the Droid X and keep the Droid X charged.

    There are two Motorola cradles for the Bionic and neither seems to support this simple use. I miss it.

    Does anyone have a solution?

    ... Thom
     

    Advertisement

  2. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    I've had luck altering the behavior of the phone in the car dock by leaving the charger connected to the dock but disconnected from the car until after inserting the phone in the dock. You may be able to get what you're looking for by plugging the cable into the computer AFTER the phone is docked.

    Also, I read (I don't remember where) about someone opening the car dock and selectively cutting the wires inside to prevent dock detection. While this seems extreme, something similar may be possible with the standard dock.

    As always, any modifications you perform are at your own risk, and only you are responsible for the results.
     
  3. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,082
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,082
    5,001
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    YEs ... it seems to me that my "desktop cradle" will continue to be the plug on the end of the USB cable running out from my workstation.

    ... Thom
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #52
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I made a reply to someone else that made this observation as well - when using the regular desktop dock, if plugged to a computer USB cable it does not charge.

    We then launched into a 'how to modify the cradle' to make it into the HDMI cradle that could be used both ways - i.e. a rotating / hiding HDMI plug so one dock could act as both.
     
  5. HotDawg

    HotDawg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    338
    33
    63
    data analyst

    Don't ask me why, but the tabletop dock instructions specifically say it needs to be plugged into the wall and shouldn't be USB'd. I'm sure mods will take care of that.
     
  6. kingnut

    kingnut Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    usb 2 from PC only puts out like 500MA max. after going through the dock its probably 400 to 450MA. not enough juice. they need to make all these phones USB 3.0 compatible. usb 3.0 puts out 900MA.
     

Share This Page

Loading...