1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root since installing icarus 1.1 mod, tethered internet has slowed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lumberjack_ian, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. lumberjack_ian

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    42
    4
    16
    sandy, or
    so i've got the phone running great, but it seems like ever since i modded the phone my tethering services have been about a quarter as fast as they used to be... not that i'm getting blazing fast speeds (i kind of live out in the sticks) but it WAS better than a dial up connection (which i don't even have a landline to hook up to) and essentially free since we are already paying for the phones services.... was getting about 400-500 kbps, now its hovers around 100 kbps and sometimes gets up to 200, but rarely and its never sustained.

    i use both easytether and wifi tether, just downloaded barnacle and will give that a try.

    now i know cricket has like a 1 gig cap for downloaded info but i don't -think- that i've gone over that, and if i have, i'm not sure how to check.

    this is my first post after lurking for a bit, the info from some people on this site is great. thanks for your input in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX

    Is it possible your tethering might have blown the cap? I just don't see Icarus as the problem. X.x
     
  3. lumberjack_ian

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    42
    4
    16
    sandy, or
    a power outage took out a comp and i had to reinstall a dated version of ubuntu 10.10 and the updates and all were probably about 400MB

    so i'm thinking i hit the cap...
    anyone w/ cricket know how to check their current data usage? or is that not quite possible?

    thanks...
     
  4. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,196
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Go to the cricket web site and sign up for "my account". Then when you sign in to your account, there will be a data usage option on the right side of the screen.
     
    Lennatron and lumberjack_ian like this.
  5. lumberjack_ian

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    42
    4
    16
    sandy, or
    maybe this has something to do with it...

     
  6. Lennatron

    Lennatron Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    451
    98
    73
    Male
    College Student
    PA
    Here's my usage and my data speeds have always been consistent:


    Estimated Usage History Date Estimated Usage
    October, 2010 0.540 GB
    November, 2010 1.282 GB
    December, 2010 0.863 GB
    January, 2011 0.603 GB
    February, 2011 0.646 GB
    March, 2011 0.835 GB
     

Share This Page

Loading...