• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

SiyahKernel v6 beta5 Battery Drain

Folks, im a bit of a noob so please be gentle!! I recently swapped my Galaxy S2 from Orange UK network to GiffGaff (runs on the O2 network). I wanted to remove all of the Orange apps so rooted my phone using the Siyah kernel V6. All went well with the installation and app removal but i have noticed high battery drain. I used to get at least 16 hours up time with medium use.

Im now getting just over 12 hours with very light use. Im putting the drain down to the screen but i haven't changed the brightness which is already set low and i have power saving enabled. I have played with Stweak settings using advice from this forum which has helped but still not as good as stock.

Can anyone offer me some advice? Also, if i want to un-root, do i just flash the stock kernel (already downloaded from Sammobile) using Odin or do i need to do anything beforehand? Is there another kernel that might be better? If so, can i just install it over the top of Siyah? I just dont want to brick my phone!

PDA: I9100XWLSY
Phone: I9100BVLS4
CSC: I9100ORALS8
Android Version: Stock 4.1.2

Thanks in advance!!

Folks, im a bit of a noob so please be gentle!! I recently swapped my Galaxy S2 from Orange UK network to GiffGaff (runs on the O2 network). I wanted to remove all of the Orange apps so rooted my phone using the Siyah kernel V6. All went well with the installation and app removal but i have noticed high battery drain. I used to get at least 16 hours up time with medium use.

Im now getting just over 12 hours with very light use. Im putting the drain down to the screen but i haven't changed the brightness which is already set low and i have power saving enabled. I have played with Stweak settings using advice from this forum which has helped but still not as good as stock.