1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Skype, any news when we will get it

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jgwatt, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. jgwatt

    jgwatt Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Hi All,
    I see the iphone has the skype apps and all report it works fine.
    When will us Galaxy users get Skype.
    Hope its very soon

    John
     

    Advertisement

  2. Cyb3r5c4r

    Cyb3r5c4r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    77
    6
    16
    Ireland
  3. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    It's on the android market. Been there for almost a week now.

    However, it does not work in the Galaxy S 2.1 firmware. It's been confirmed that it does work on the beta 2.2 firmware, so all we need to do is sit tight and wait for the official froyo to come out.
     
  4. MAKFOTO

    MAKFOTO Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    37
    4
    16
    I can confirm it works well on XXJPK beta 2.2 Pity it doesn't include video.
     
  5. jgwatt

    jgwatt Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    7
    0
    5

    Thats good news but when will the 2.2 (froyo) come out AND will we be able to update / change easily and with Optus as Iam on a cap $49.

    How does it work with Optus as they state that they do not allow voice calls etc over data. How will they stop it or how will they charge. This is a pain if u ask me as you dont get this problem with normall internet so whats up.

    John
     
  6. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    In that case you won't be able to use skype. Optus will probably block the ports used by skype.

    Voice call uses up surprisingly large bandwidth, which is why network providers don't like it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...