1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Skype is here

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by WormDoes, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I'm not sure what you're doing, but I installed the apk with Astro without any issue.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mattbirk

    mattbirk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    231
    17
    38
    Male
    ISP/Run local businesses networks
    Chicago, IL
    It kept failing to log me on to Skype, so I switched to 4G from WiFi and it worked...could it just be the wireless network I am on? It's a college network, not just a home router...

    Also, is Skype video chat mobile free to use? I have only used it once or twice on the computer.

    EDIT: Nevermind about the WiFi question, I figured out the problem. I hadn't logged in to the school's WiFi through the browser yet.
     
  3. Citic07

    Citic07 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    43
    2
    16
    NoVa
    I did it! Installed to my desktop then sent an e-mail to myself with the file in it, opened the e-mail and installed perfectly. :D
     
  4. Mayimbe007

    Mayimbe007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    22
    2
    16
    Installed yesterday without any issues. Tested it at work with a colleague that has an I-Phone via wifi. Audio and Video was quite impressive.
     
  5. dangerous

    dangerous Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    77
    5
    16
    Arizona
    It worked on my Wife's phone (yesterday) with 4G
     
  6. Lunacy

    Lunacy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    81
    11
    18
    If anyone is having trouble with the .apk then here is a QR download link.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. lamoglinsgal

    lamoglinsgal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    1,044
    115
    143
    Virginia
    I just installed via Dropbox and my husband's T-Bolt and mine and it's working perfectly. Thank you, OP! Video and sound is perfect over wifi. I haven't tested 3G yet. (No 4G in our area yet.)

    I don't know if it makes a difference, but I didn't have any other version of Skype installed when I installed this one.
     
  8. Flyguy94

    Flyguy94 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    132
    19
    38
    Helo Driver/Sanitation Engineer
    KSRQ
    I've installed 2 times now, my picture freezes and phone locks up and I have to do a battery pull. Anyone else have this problem. Thats going from phone to PC.
     
  9. Romikemi

    Romikemi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    141
    23
    38
    OFL
    Deleting my post, problem I was talking about is more general with front facing camera than just Skype.
     
  10. jzamorski113

    jzamorski113 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I am running stock everything and I got the app to load just fine. I didn't sync contacts because I really do not want to, but it loads the skype contacts you already have into the program. I went to call my girlfriend, I was on wifi on the phone, she was on her pc. I selected call with video, and it showed me on my screen, but once she answered the video part went away. We skype pc to pc all the time, but I figured it would be awesome to video chat her from my phone. Any ideas why this would occur? Wifi should work with the chatting according to the documentation when you first start the app. I don't have 4g at my house, im like 5 miles out of the radius for 4g. ugh. wifi should work though, so this is baffling me.
     
  11. Yellow Snowman

    Yellow Snowman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    344
    40
    43
    Hmmm, installed via Dropbox.........would this work to install on iPad as well?


    I'm installing now. Is there a place I should save to? Or can I move it to sd card? Seems like a big file
     
  12. jjotmo

    jjotmo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    It worked great for me just now on 3g to my computer. It seemed clearer and faster(less lag) than yahoo messenger. I had to set up 2 accounts but I will be using this alot since it's smoother than Y! messenger. Thanks for the link.
     
  13. CegAbq

    CegAbq Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    109
    12
    38
    Albuquerque
    I'm having similar issues too. Hoping to find a fix eventually. :(
     
  14. izthistaken

    izthistaken Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I can't even get it to install? Do I need to install Skype elsewhere first, is this like a patch?
     
  15. daltekkie

    daltekkie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    75
    11
    18
    Dallas, TX
    Is anyone having problems with audio/video quality? Mine installed just fine but when I tested with my roommate's iPhone, you could barely see the video of me it was so dark, while his was perfectly fine. We were both in the same light. Plus, I could barely hear him and the volume was up as high as it would go.

    Any ideas? I'm new to Skype, so maybe some settings I need to tweak?

    Just to clarify: When I say tested with iPhone, I mean my TB to his iPhone.
     
  16. Left Coast DJ

    Left Coast DJ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    339
    50
    73
    Southern California
    Back to top. How's Video Skype been working for those of you who installed it via the leaked apk? Any issues?
     
  17. elements

    elements Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    53
    5
    16
    I pulled it off of the leaked one on the website. The video quality of the other person on a desktop was flawless. Audio was perfect but apparently I was freezing a lot and when I wasn't freezing up the quality was reportedly poor.
     
  18. riosgeovanny

    riosgeovanny Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    71
    8
    16
    Great no prob here TB 2 TB is good n clear
     
  19. Bert336

    Bert336 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    64
    7
    16
    so i just tried it with my wife's tbolt, she is under 3G and i am over WiFi....took a few tries since either the video was upside down or she couldnt hear me. But not too bad.. Has anyone tried to video talk with an I*hone?
     
  20. Howie

    Howie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,412
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,412
    71
    148
    IT
    Central NY
    no matter how many times I redownload this from different sources it never installs. I always click install and get "application not installed"... I have checked the option for 'unknown sources'
     
  21. jcnyc

    jcnyc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    293
    31
    43
    I've been video chatting with a friend in China and gotta say it's the best video chat software I've used to date. I was on 4g and she was on whatever they have over there on an iphone. At first it was a bit choppy but still pretty good. I switched it to wifi and the quality was much better, nearly 0 lag. I'm pretty sure video chat relies more on upload speeds than download because my 4g has faster down but slower up vs my FIOS service.

    We used Tango before and the quality was shit. Fring and Qik didn't even work. We also tried Clearsea but that sucked as well. Skype ftw currently.
     
  22. dlbrugioni07

    dlbrugioni07 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hey i'm new to everything on the android system, but i downloaded Astro and then skype from you link. Every time i try to open it to download is says "There is a problem parsing the package." what should i do?
     
  23. cbanning

    cbanning Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    214
    5
    36
    Arvada, CO
    Does Skype work on an iPhone?
     
  24. Left Coast DJ

    Left Coast DJ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    339
    50
    73
    Southern California
    Skype has a native video app. for the iPhone. But with Microsoft getting ready to buy Skype, who knows what'll happen.
     
  25. TxGoat

    TxGoat Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

Share This Page

Loading...