1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

skype on b2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cmantelope, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. cmantelope

    cmantelope Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    93
    24
    18
    HI

    After reading recent posts re: skype..is a correct assumption that if and when there is a skype app supporting voip for android, the b2 would then be able to receive skype video calls? - (and I suppose it would be only on the android 2.0 - and b2 would have to get that too) - and - do windows phones already support skype now? - do I really have to get an iphone if I want to skype?

    thks
     

    Advertisement

  2. chris76

    chris76 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    29
    0
    35
    Skype for Windows Mobile works perfectly. Skype for Android does not exist yet. Skype Lite is a paid service for calls; chat is free.
     
  3. cmantelope

    cmantelope Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    93
    24
    18
    Thanks so much, that was very helpful!
     
  4. tikiral

    tikiral Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    45
    2
    36
    On the other hand, there IS now a Fring app for Android and that'll work fine with your Skype or SIP account supposedly. Haven't finished setting it up and trying yet due to not getting my device set up on the WPA-Enterprise wireless here at the office.

    Sounds like it should be really easy though.
     
  5. cmantelope

    cmantelope Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    93
    24
    18
    Thank you so much for your post....if you do get it going, would you please post your impressions/experiences? -

    I appreciate your time, and info :)
     
  6. kam187

    kam187 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009

    Aug 3, 2009
    1,320
    46
    118
    UK
    I use sipdroid as a sip client myself. its not bad, but does drop frames every now and then. I think its due to CPU stall rather than packet loss.

    I switch between gizmo5 linked to google voice for free US calls, and a paid sip account.
     

Share This Page

Loading...