1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Skype on epic 4g?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by viisign, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. viisign

    viisign Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    86
    1
    16
    i don't know where to post this....but is there anyone out there that can please tell me how to use skype on the epic ? i downloaded it and i try to setup an account with it but it keeps saying initializing...and it won't stop. nothing ever happens? i am running 2.1 android or whatever. i really need to use this on my phone cause my sister is moving to florida and this will be the only way for me to talk to her. and i can't get this app to work? thanks to everyone that replies!
     

    Advertisement

  2. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    395
    25
    43
    The Skype app page in the app store specifically states that Skype requires Android 2.2 on the Galaxy S (The epic is a Galaxy S phone).

    It won't work until we get 2.2.

    -SF
     
  3. viisign

    viisign Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    86
    1
    16
    when will we get 2.2.???
     
  4. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    395
    25
    43
  5. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    459
    48
    63
    Producer/Musician
    Memphis
    I hav had it since Nov. along with Skype; but since I've been introduced to ooVoo, I don't even use Skype anymore on my computer.. (of course u still need 2.2 for that) It lets me do Phone to computer Video chats & works great...
     
  6. FreakyLocz14

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,344
    76
    148
    I have Skype running on EPIC (I have Android 2.2), but you can only make Skype calls over Wi-Fi and it doesn't video chat. This sucks!
     
  7. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    459
    48
    63
    Producer/Musician
    Memphis
    Check out ooVoo...
     
  8. FreakyLocz14

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,344
    76
    148
    I have ooVoo and it's great! Unfortunately, a lot more people are on Skype. I also wish the ooVoo app wouldn't automatically start when I boot my phone.
     
  9. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    459
    48
    63
    Producer/Musician
    Memphis
    Yeah I don't like the startup thing... but as far people, I hav all the folks that I kno on ooVoo.. Especially ones I chat with on the computer...
     
  10. trayack

    trayack Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    40
    0
    15
    I want to use ooVoo but I'm waiting for god damn upgrade. I don't want to do the half assed leaked one. Its really starting to piss me off.
     
  11. FreakyLocz14

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,344
    76
    148
    You don't need 2.2 to use Skype. It works on my kid sister's Virgin Mobile Intercept that is on 2.1 still.
     

Share This Page

Loading...