1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root SLCD kernel... PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ErisEscalavee, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. ErisEscalavee

    ErisEscalavee Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    29
    0
    35
    Tattoo artist, soon to be Web designer
    Under a dead Michigan sky
    I have an SLCD Incredible. I am rooted, but having the SLCD screen, when I flash a ROM, I lose all function of the touch screen because most ROMs do not have the SLCD drivers, they have the AMOLED drivers. The ROM installs perfectly fine. i have called the phone with ROMs on it, the phone rings, I see the number, but no touch screen. I have been searching for 2 days for a kernel that is compatible with SLCD and will install the SLCD drivers, but I have had no luck at all.

    Any suggestions? Anyone else experience this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Penguissimo

    Penguissimo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    272
    86
    53
    What ROM are you trying? I have an SLCD DI, and I
     
  3. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Yeah, I was kinda wondering that too. Are you in need of the updated Clockwork recovery for SLCD's?
     
  4. ErisEscalavee

    ErisEscalavee Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    29
    0
    35
    Tattoo artist, soon to be Web designer
    Under a dead Michigan sky
    I am using Clockwork Recovery v2.5.1.2
    HBOOT-0.92.0000
    S-OFF
    Touch Panel-ATMEL224_20aa
    Radio-2.15.00.07.28

    I have no problems in recovery. I have no problems with HBOOT. I do everything from HBOOT/recovery, (no ROM manager). The ROM flashes and works (I can see notifications changing, calls can come in and I see the caller, and I can receive texts). The only problem is no touch screen once the ROM is on there.

    I have only flashed super-Z and warm two point two, and I have tried flashing incredikernal hoping it would install SLCD drivers... no dice.

    I am about ready to unroot and give up. I have been searching for 2 days straight (literally... I was up until 4 am and back at it all day today). I don't want to keep flashing different kernels and ROMs because I have read of people killing their SLCD screens. I don't want to do anything without researching and reading, but I can't research something that no one has experienced! No one seems to have ever had this problem, so I can't find a fix. The only suggestions have been to try kernels, most of which I can't find.

    ETA: When I restore to stock I have all touch screen function.
     
  5. m411b

    m411b Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    24
    1
    16
    Retired
    TN
    My SLCD has had just about every ROM in the list on it and dozens of different kernels and I have never had this happen.

    Did you mess with the ROM's before flashing them?
    Are you clearing cache before flashing?
    Are you using AOSP kernels with non-AOSP ROM's?
     
  6. ErisEscalavee

    ErisEscalavee Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    29
    0
    35
    Tattoo artist, soon to be Web designer
    Under a dead Michigan sky
    No, I haven't done anything to the ROMs.

    I am wiping data/cache/dalvik before flashing.

    I am using kernels recommended by the dev and users of the ROM.

    I am thinking I may unroot and start over, possibly installing Amon-Ra recovery instead of Clockwork. Something may have gotten screwed during rooting... Naaahhhhh... It HAS to be something with the SLCD drivers. Rooting just gives me recovery and root access. This is driving me nuts!
     
  7. razorclose

    razorclose Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    243
    7
    36
    Macon, Ga
    I too have a SLCD DInc, no problems running any ROMs or kernels
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I would tend to agree. This is one of the oddest issues I've seen in some time. And it seems you are indeed alone on this for the most part. I spent some time searching and about all I came across was your threads on mulitple Droid forums.

    I have been racking my brain on this one and I am coming up with nothing. It almost seems like you received the wrong display for this device or something yet it works with stock. Hboot and radio up to date and even if they weren't, what the Hell would they have to do with touch screen functionality?

    I mean it's almost like you have some top secret experimental device here that they sent out by accident. And what are you gonna do..."hey can I get a replacement phone cuz when I root and load any custom rom, my screen breaks?" :p

    There's just one crazy idea you might try, it's the only thing I can think of. Try a different SD card in the phone. It's the only thing that makes even the slightest sliver of sense to change outside of a new phone or getting incredibly lucky and finding a particular kernel that works and if you do find one, I'd call it a shear accident because to my knowledge, nobody is deving for this issue b/c nobody else has it.

    I'm still thinking but my brain hurts.
     
  9. ErisEscalavee

    ErisEscalavee Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    29
    0
    35
    Tattoo artist, soon to be Web designer
    Under a dead Michigan sky

    Thank you, I appreciate someone sharing my brain racking! I had one person tell me that it happened to him on the CM forum. He suggested I try a CM build, so that is downloading now. If this doesn't work, I am going to unroot, because there is really no point if I can't mod it how I want, you know? Sure, I have SU, but big deal. :p
     
  10. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I don't blame you, I'd unroot too. I hope CM works out. You trying CM6 stable or CM7 new nightly?
     
  11. ErisEscalavee

    ErisEscalavee Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    29
    0
    35
    Tattoo artist, soon to be Web designer
    Under a dead Michigan sky

    I was planning on getting a larger card anyway because I have tons of music on my card.

    I am pretty sure you replied to me the other day about my Inc reading my "partitioned" card (which is isn't, my lappy was reading internal and external storage)..... This makes me wonder if my phone is somehow mixing up information that was left on the card from my rooted Eris.
     
  12. ErisEscalavee

    ErisEscalavee Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    29
    0
    35
    Tattoo artist, soon to be Web designer
    Under a dead Michigan sky
    CM6 stable.

    Here goes nothing! :eek:
     
  13. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Yeah it was me although I didn't remember that until now and it makes me even more optimistic about trying a card change. Frankly I still think it's a longshot but you never know. I've seen smartphones of various models fail in one way or another due to a bad file on the SD. Blackberries are notorious for that. Idk, it's something quick and easy to try. No other major changes make sense to me. I mean you do have radio upgrade potential but a lot of people are on the 7.28 radio and doing fine. I can't imagine what on earth the radio would do to fix a screen problem. Makes zero common sense.
     
  14. ErisEscalavee

    ErisEscalavee Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    29
    0
    35
    Tattoo artist, soon to be Web designer
    Under a dead Michigan sky
    SUCCESS!!!!! CM 6.1 stable actually works!

    I would really like to know why the hell the other ROMs wouldn't activate the touch screen now...
     
  15. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I have no idea but congrats on finally getting one working. Maybe it's just a Sense problem for you and AOSP Roms will all work? Whatever the case, you're back in the game. :)
     
  16. ErisEscalavee

    ErisEscalavee Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    29
    0
    35
    Tattoo artist, soon to be Web designer
    Under a dead Michigan sky
    Yeah, FINALLY! :D I am flashing a pretty theme right now!
     

Share This Page

Loading...