1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Slingbox Mobile App???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dunkeroo, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. Dunkeroo

    Dunkeroo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    36
    4
    16
    Hi there.

    Thinking about purchasing a SLINGBOX SOLO or SLINGBOX PRO-HD.

    Was wondering if anyone on here has:

    a) used the slingbox mobile app on their fascinate? If so does it function properly?

    b) would the SLINGBOX PRO-HD stream high definition content in HD to a Samsung Fascinate?

    It would be a waste of money to get the PRO-HD model if the phone can't support HD playback ya know?

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. nghthawk47

    nghthawk47 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    I have the Slingbox pro HD and it is pretty awesome! I use both the mobile Android App as well as watching it online via Laptop/Desktop web browsers. The quality (at least for me) is as good as the original source picture. It's a little pricey, but the moblie app is worth it.
     
  3. Dunkeroo

    Dunkeroo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    36
    4
    16

    Thanks for the reply!

    I guess my main question was for one are you:

    a) streaming it to a samsung fascinate?

    and

    b) does it stream in HD or does it convert it to SD when using your mobile app on the fascinate?

    I'm only going to be using it for the mobile app so i wanted to know if it would be worth paying the extra money for the PRO-HD Slingbox. If it downstreams the picture to SD on the samsung fascinate then i'm just going to buy the Slingbox Solo.

    Was hoping you can answer that question.

    Thanks again for all your replies.
     
  4. peterrod16

    peterrod16 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    I have been using the slingbox pro with slingbox app for the last three months and i love it. I didnt get the hd box cause my internet connection isnt high speed. Also the slingbox app just recently installed a high quality button to improve the viewing experience.
    A must buy for fascinate owners
     
  5. markdmac

    markdmac Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    203
    30
    63
    Professional Computer Consultant
    Gilbert, AZ
    I too am using the Slingbox Pro (not HD) and purchased the Android app. I love it.
     
  6. nghthawk47

    nghthawk47 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    13
    1
    16

    Sorry for the long delay in replying!

    I have only used the actual android app for the EVO, which my friend now has and he uses it. I am on a Fascinate now and didn't want to pay the fee again for the app, so I haven't repurchased it. On the web/phone interface I have used, there is a sliding scale type of interface for quality, so you can improve the picture when the bandwidth is available (don't forget, on WIFI the Fascinate is HD capable). The HD version of Slingbox is really great, has multiple inputs so you can do a cable box as well as dvd player etc...

    Hope that helps...
     
  7. markdmac

    markdmac Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    203
    30
    63
    Professional Computer Consultant
    Gilbert, AZ
    I use it on my Fascinate and it is awesome. My Slingbox is not an HD so that is not an option for me, thus I can't comment on the quality/value of the upgraded version.

    nghthawk47 if you paid for the app on any Android then you only need to download it again as long as your phone is using the same GMail account.

    You only have to pay for it platforms. For example I paid for the application on PocketPC, but then had to buy it again for Android.
     
  8. nghthawk47

    nghthawk47 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    Yes I am aware of how that works, as I had said, that was on a different phone/account. Have no need to rebuy it for the time being... Thanks.
     
  9. Dunkeroo

    Dunkeroo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    36
    4
    16
    Thanks for the info. So far ive been using it for a couple of weeks. I have the PRO-HD version. On my pc the hd quality is amazing.

    On my fascinate 3G works just fine and gets the job done.

    When i switch to wifi im not seeing the sliding scale for quality on the slingplayer app. Are you talking about aspect ratio? i can't seem to figure out how to get it to set to hd.

    Thanks.
     
  10. nghthawk47

    nghthawk47 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    13
    1
    16
    It's not the aspect ratio, it's a quality/bitrate scale. It's also on the pc browser version on the lower right side of the screen. I know they recently updated the app for Android, and as I mentioned, the App I was using was on an EVO which I no longer have, so I haven't seen the new app as I now am using a Fascinate. Sorry I couldn't be of any help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...