1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Slow 3G speeds

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mig1980, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    Good day everyone. I recently flashed Mik3D and Golden Monkey 1.1 on my evo. I have run several 3G speed tests and I am at about 200 Kbps down and 500 Kbps up. This seems very slow for my download speed.

    In the same respect I ran several 4G tests and I am at about 7.5Mbps down and at about 1.5 Mbps up (on average).

    Is this normal. It seems a lot slower than before when I was running stock rom and kernel. BTW...they are the same speeds as when I was running Chop Suey 9.2.7 earlier today.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Mine aren't very good either, using a speed test, but pages dl fast and I can watch netlix without buffering.

    Don't know what to think. never really got good 3g speeds on stock either.
     
  3. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    I notice a huge differnece when I am downloading apps. They never took this long to download before. I am crawling on 3G. Never did a speed test when I had the stock rom but it was downloading faster, that is for sure.
     
  4. blanco425

    blanco425 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    104
    8
    36
  5. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Be careful running a different prl. If you run too much roaming data, sprint will terminate your contract. It happened to Mr. Ed.

    On another note have you tried to update your profile?

    Try that and see if it helps, if not i'll see if I can find Mr. Ed's fix for 3G speeds.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  6. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    so should I update just the profile or profile and prl?

    By the way, my current PRL is 60681 and my PRI is 1.77_003
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  8. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    Granite did mention about getting my contract terminated. I don't want to risk that. What is that all about?
     
  9. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Thanks for posting the link. I had seen that before. I tried it the other night. They didn't really help me out either. Once I got into that epst thing, the categories weren't exactly the same in this version of the evo.

    I didn't want to mess with it too much, walking softly in there.
     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no that is an entirely different issue. someone else mentioned to switch your prl onto verizon's prl and in which case you will get terminated eventually. granite was just commenting on that idea. the 3g speed fix is different.
     
  11. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    So I went through the steps listed in the link above. The areas that it instructed to change to 0 were already changed. Not sure if this was part of the rom or the kernel I flashed a few days back. Any other ideas?
     
  12. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    yeah. on mine too.
     
  13. mig1980

    mig1980 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    64
    0
    15
    Any further input on this?
     
  14. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    I think we are sol bro. It seems to work pretty good though.
     
  15. SatelliteGuy

    SatelliteGuy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    52
    10
    18
    It's kinda nice to know how to get out of that termination fee tho....
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...