1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Slow 3G

Discussion in 'Verizon' started by Cmdr007, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. Cmdr007

    Cmdr007 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    22
    11
    18
    Richmond, VA
    Is anyone else experiencing very slow 3G connection speeds? It seems to be taking forever to load up websites on my Incredible right now.
     

    Advertisement

  2. gvillager

    gvillager Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    317
    53
    53
    NYC
    VZW is still integrating the Alltel network in the Richmond, VA area. You may have another week of issues till the kinks are worked out.
     
    Cmdr007 likes this.
  3. Cmdr007

    Cmdr007 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    22
    11
    18
    Richmond, VA
    Thanks. Was there a press release or news item on this?
     
  4. Blondie7303

    Blondie7303 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I'm in Columbus, Oh, and have for the last month been experiencing v......e..........r............y slow network... Is there a signal boost app????:thinking:
     
  5. gvillager

    gvillager Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    317
    53
    53
    NYC
    No, it hasn't been announced yet. I've got a friend that works for VZW and he's very familiar with the situation in Richmond. They are expecting to have everything completed this weekend. Monday morning dial *228 and select option 1 to reprogram your phone. Call tech support if your issues are not resolved by that time.

    I'll try and get the scoop on Columbus.
     
  6. Vmanisme

    Vmanisme Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    599
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    599
    149
    93
    Virginia
    Yeah I went to Richmond area and my Ally was much slower there. Works fine down here in Williamsburg area though.
     
  7. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    Yeah, it's spotty. In NW Washington, DC the speed is barely 3G, I think they just lock it at the lowest speed you can have and still be 3G because they know I'll call them again. :D
    At my house ~18 miles away, the speed is at the higher end of what VZW is able to put out. I think the Dulles corridor is a little flaky because of all of the construction. They probably nailed some towers in the hurry to get the rail line in. ;)
     
  8. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    We need some speedtest results pronto! :D
     
  9. dots

    dots Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    965
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    965
    245
    93
    Shelby Township, MI
    Here's my 3G speed while tethering.

    [​IMG]

    Anywhere i travel is the Southeast Michigan area i have had consistent 3g speed.
     
  10. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    2.5 Mb? I can dream can't I?

    [​IMG]
     
  11. gvillager

    gvillager Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    317
    53
    53
    NYC
    Are you still having network issues in the Richmond area?
     
  12. Cmdr007

    Cmdr007 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    22
    11
    18
    Richmond, VA
    Yeah, I am. I just ran a speed test and got:

    177 kbps down
    1607 kbps up
     
  13. Cmdr007

    Cmdr007 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    22
    11
    18
    Richmond, VA
    Still getting these speeds today. Argh! This is so aggravating!
     
  14. gvillager

    gvillager Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    317
    53
    53
    NYC
    Call tech support and have them open a trouble ticket. Otherwise, it probably won't get fixed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...