1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Slow, buggy RCA tablet.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Droidmaster3, Oct 30, 2017.

  1. Droidmaster3

    Droidmaster3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017

    Oct 30, 2017
    4
    2
    5
    Hello. I need some help with my new cheap tablet.

    To correct it is an RCA Voyager 3 with Android 6.0.1
    Basically the tablet is horribly slow. I am having problems with the system being so slow that it is unusable. Wondering if there is anything I can do to speed it up?

    Also I am curious about my hardware.
    Supposedly I have an Intel Atom processor and 1gb of RAM,
    Is there any difference between x86 Android and the arm version?
    Are any apps not compatible or slow/ demanding of x86 devices?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,656
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,656
    14,622
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Well it doesn't have much RAM in the thing, only 1GB. The Intel Atom Android tablets I've seen and used have 2GB or 4GB RAM. So that's probably the reason why it's very slow, especially for Android 6.x or later. IMO the RCA Voyager 3 is probably too cheapo, so suggest you return it for something that's better specced.

    x86 rather than the more usual ARM for Android might give some incompatibility with certain apps, so that is something to be aware of.
     
  3. Droidmaster3

    Droidmaster3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017

    Oct 30, 2017
    4
    2
    5
    Thanks. I hate to return it because it was a gift but I may be forced at this point.
    Is there anything can do to " speed up " the os like disabling features, or replacing apps for smaller, less memory using ones? Example change web browser, launcher etc.
     
  4. Droidmaster3

    Droidmaster3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017

    Oct 30, 2017
    4
    2
    5
    Can you tell me how to turn off google now?

    Google seems to be slowing things down so I want to turn it off,
    but I can't find the option to disable. I have version 7.13.28.21.
    cannot find option to turn off Now cards
     

Share This Page

Loading...