1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Slow data speeds over LTE

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by msimanyi, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. msimanyi

    msimanyi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    Ookla speedtest shows I have about 6 Mbps down and 1.28 Mbps up through my Verizon network. One of my coworker's phones (an S4) on Verizon shows 60+ Mbps down and 6+ Mbps up, sitting at the same table.

    Any thoughts on *why* my data rates are so much slower? Is it possible Verizon has done something to throttle back the legacy unlimited data plan customers?

    Mike
     

    Advertisement

  2. Einsteindks

    Einsteindks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    157
    29
    43
    Could be, wouldn't put it past Big Red.
     
  3. LizMac

    LizMac Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #271
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013

    Nov 14, 2013
    331
    194
    88
    Female
    Oh... no doubt. How did you end up with legacy unlimited? Verizon forced me out.
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,243
    Posts:
    11,700
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,700
    4,842
    1,243
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Did you do a Factory Data Reset after updating to Kit Kat?

    ... Thom
     
  5. msimanyi

    msimanyi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    Nope, I didn't do the factory reset. I'll try that tonight and see if it helps.

    To LizMac, I had two lines on the account and transferred upgrades from the other phone to maintain the unlimited data plan.

    If they're really throttling me back though, that's a total waste of effort.

    Mike
     
  6. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,684
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,684
    34,037
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I'm still rocking a lagacy unlimited plan with Verizon and I haven't noticed any appreciable change using Speedtest. Did you make sure you are connecting to the same server? I normally get connected to Boston, MA for tests, but when I just ran one, I connected to Norwood, MA.
     
    Thom likes this.
  7. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,243
    Posts:
    11,700
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,700
    4,842
    1,243
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Excellent reminder.

    I always use Towerstream in Boston when I run a test. This then shows consistency among devices.

    ... Thom
     
  8. msimanyi

    msimanyi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    I'm in Southern California, and whether it connects through Irvine, Fullerton or Los Angeles the numbers are essentially the same.

    And at the moment, the numbers are all even slower: 2 - 4Mb down and 2 - 3 Mb up.

    Kinda pathetic...

    Mike
     
  9. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,243
    Posts:
    11,700
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,700
    4,842
    1,243
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    ... as long as all devices are being measured from the same server.

    ... Thom
     
  10. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    Maybe he is connecting to xLTE (the newly-branded AWS band 4) and you are connecting to legacy LTE (band 13). Luck of the draw for him.
     
  11. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    ^^^This could be the cause. I'm not sure if the Droid Maxx has had an update to enable the band 4 LTE on it or not. I'm pretty positive both the GS4 has been enabled IIRC, so it sounds like the cause.
     
  12. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    The Maxx has been able to use AWS since the Jellybean OTA last November. I wonder if the phone is connecting to LTE because the signal is stronger than the AWS signal?

    Those bandwidth results sure look like the difference between AWS and band 13.
     
  13. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    It definitely looks like that's the cause. Verizon Band 4 is likely not congested at all which is why the friend is getting 60mbps while band 13 is congested hence only 6mbps down on the maxx. 6mbps was about the speed I averaged nearly 1.5 years ago when I left Verizon, so it doesn't surprise me at all.
     
  14. msimanyi

    msimanyi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    The full factory reset didn't change anything.

    Interestingly enough, I was picking up lunch from a place a couple hundred feet from the Verizon store. At that location, I had 20Mb down and 20Mb up.

    I have a feeling this is a case of the device being throttled back, even though I was under 2Gb of data used during the period in effect when I started this thread, and I'm at all of 38Mb used on the current period.

    As of this writing, I'm at 5.28Mbps down and 1.03 up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...