1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Slow droid. Sad droid. Upgrade droid.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fam, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. fam

    fam Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    287
    61
    53
    IT\Photography\Illustrator\Auto Racing
    Sylvania, OH
    No matter than the rom and the overclock, my little droid that could just doesnt have the power I need to keep all my apps and widgets running without a 5-10 second delay sometimes when I turn the screen on. She plays games well once they are loaded but for the first minute she has quick pauses as she catches up...(yes my droid is a she). Then to make matters worse my coworker who knows nothing of phones or android brings in the verizon samsung continuum (spelling)...thing is blazing fast and the screen is gorgeous..I dont like the front end GUI or the phone itself but its apparent it will soon be time to upgrade...the 256 megs of ram is killing me.

    Maybe a thunderbolt or a bionic..but heard the bionic may be summer till its out. Honestly would rather just have a dell streak but its not out for verizon.

    Anyone else feel the same way?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    That is terrible. No offense, I'm sure you're a tech savvy user here, but have you gone into the application manager and cleared caches lately?

    Or used a cache cleaning app? ..etc. There could be a lot of reasons for the slow downs, but it sounds like your device is constipated and just needs a good cleaning out. ;)
     
    Iadwit likes this.
  3. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    I haven't seen the Continuum so it's not a fair comparison, but OCing and a snappy ROM should show a marvelous increase in phone performance. I have two Droid Incredibles on my plan and my Droid is pretty much on par with those.

    I do recommend going into Settings > Applications > Running Apps to see what's running. Often times there's a lot more going than people realize. If it's not a widget, it probably doesn't need to be running. Hope that helps.
     
  4. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    You're doing something wrong here. What ROM, what kernel, etc. are you using?

    The Continuum is running 2.1, no way it should be miles ahead of your Droid. At 1 Ghz and still on Eclair, it should be slower than a Galaxy S phone like the Fascinate. And mine trounces my bud's Fascinate on benchmarks as well as side by side comparison. His stock, mine at 800 Mhz, so not even full-blast for me.

    You need to run a good ROM and a good kernel that agree with each other. I can help you out with a few things, but they aren't allowed to be discussed on the forum so you can PM me if you're interested.


    Otherwise, you should just realize that something isn't right, and no offense, but it seems to be a user-error, not the phone. But everyone here will help you fix it because we've all been in the same spot.
     
  5. fam

    fam Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    287
    61
    53
    IT\Photography\Illustrator\Auto Racing
    Sylvania, OH
    Ultimate Droid 2.5 which only goes to 800mhz. Did a full wipe from UD 3.0 beta back to 2.5

    The long delay isnt all the time...its only a few times when it will be a blank background and reload all the widgets slowly...or it will be sluggish when trying to answer a call and it will barely work right enough for me to drag left to right before the last ring....its always at the worst times...other times all the icons will be there and there will be no loading at all.

    Only 41M free in memory which isnt enough ( I used to freak when it was under 100M)


    Running services are

    Fancy widget
    Google Services Framework
    Android Keyboard
    (other L 57MB in 4\ Avail 18MB +72MB in 11)

    under manage applications running it has

    advanked task killer
    android keyboard
    android system
    calendar storage
    com.android.providers.applications
    com.android.prociders.userdictioxxxx
    Contacts storage
    dialer storage
    dialer
    download manager
    DRM protected content storage
    facebook
    fancy widget
    gallery
    google services framework
    launcer
    maps
    media storage
    messaging
    music
    settings storage
    torch (led light app)
    twitter
     
  6. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,058
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    I have found, in UD 2.5, that "lock home in memory" and setting VM heap to 24 vastly improved homescreen responsiveness. They are in UD Settings--> Performance Settings.

    I don't know if you have LauncherPro or not, but there are a couple of tweaks there too that help.
     
    fam likes this.
  7. fam

    fam Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    287
    61
    53
    IT\Photography\Illustrator\Auto Racing
    Sylvania, OH
    Thanks I will try it...I bought launcher pro but im diggin the stock 2.5 interface right now.
     
  8. crankerchick

    crankerchick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    593
    113
    93
    you need to lock home in memory and get rid of ATK
     
  9. fam

    fam Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    287
    61
    53
    IT\Photography\Illustrator\Auto Racing
    Sylvania, OH
    locking home has stopped the rare but annoying 10 second delays. Too bad there's no hack to make the screen and inch bigger. ;P
     

Share This Page

Loading...