1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

"Slow" internet symptom - is this normal?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JimR123, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. JimR123

    JimR123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    103
    2
    36
    UK
    Hi all,

    I'm finding that when I browse to a webpage on any site, using the default Hero browser, that most of the time the progress bar sticks at about 10% for a good few seconds (say 5-10) and then either starts loading the page, or fails with a "page not found" type page.

    It does it on many different types of websites (small simple ones and big complicated ones).

    It does it whether I'm on wi-fi or out and about (er, GSM is it?).

    The Market app is also quite slow to load the first bit of data.

    I am on Vodafone, and have already turned off their "Content Control". I have a horrible feeling that it'll still be checking with their server before downloading a page.

    Anybody else see this pause at 10% progress in the browser?
     

    Advertisement

  2. david83

    david83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    183
    3
    36
    crime scene person
    UK
    ive noticed the same thing. i'm on orange and i definately get a pause although it's not as much as 10 seconds. 5 maybe. Even on Wifi. i think that's just the way it is. hardware limitation maybe?
     
  3. JimR123

    JimR123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    103
    2
    36
    UK
    I would think hardware limitation if it did it consistently, but sometimes it doesn't pause at 10%.
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Copied my post fro ma similar thread:

     
  5. JimR123

    JimR123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    103
    2
    36
    UK
    Tried Steel, and still the same problem.

    Another thing I've noticed is that it doesn't seem to pause so long the second time around.

    It's almost as if the data connection goes to sleep after a few seconds, and then takes 5 seconds to wake up when you start requesting web pages.

    I notice there's an "Enable always-on mobile" setting, which I've now turned on, but it doesn't seem to have helped. I'm guessing this only has an effect when not using wi-fi anyway...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...