1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Slow market issues - Anyone have a fix? (Froyo)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by FUCCO, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. FUCCO

    FUCCO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    122
    6
    36
    All day today my market is loading slow and will not download or update my apps. Twice i got a server error message. I have petes froyo rom. Anyone else having problems.

    ps Also my temperature weather is not displaying in the clock app which is used when my phone docks at night. Also the news and sports have not been updated since yesterday. thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. einyv

    einyv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    78
    1
    16
    using kangerade and it seems to download from the market. I think the weather app is just having issues in general. It has been working with intermittent issues with the temp showing but the sun icon is there as well as the 6 day forecast. My brother who is not rooted having the same issue.
     
  3. iamloco724

    iamloco724 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    739
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    739
    4
    61
    i have server errors today from my market as well and updating an app last night it froze downloading just the market it wouldnt go to final steps of installing i rebooted and it work but today server errors on most recent froyo beast
     
  4. FUCCO

    FUCCO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    122
    6
    36
    well thats good news (i guess) at least it is not my phone/setup. Hopefully it will fix itself soon. I cant download and apps right now
     
  5. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,395
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL
    I know the general consensus has been "wait a day" or "A few reboots help"... but I am curious to know if anyone has actually figured out how to get the market working like it is supposed to.

    I have two droids, both have identical setups (Both Kangerade ROMs, Same kernels). One has been running the ROM since the hour Kangerade was released and the market still doesn't work, and the other the market worked fine on right from the start. There has to be something going on here.
     
  6. hexon

    hexon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    165
    8
    36
    Pharmacy Tech
    Knoxville, TN
    Mine won't download and install apps unless I keep the market open. sort of weird. Only had this problem in 2.2
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    I think I am one of the few but I have not had any market issues on froyo. Maybe a little bit slow at times but nothing like what a lot of people are describing.

    I feel like I am saying this in a lot of threads but I guess I will say it again. I am running plain FRF 57. Maybe its something in the themes/roms causing the issues
     
  8. FUCCO

    FUCCO Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    122
    6
    36
    well i did a complete wipe and clean reset. Then reinstalled bb froyo. Now none of my apps will download so i am assuming there is something goin on with the market. Anyway, might as well restore it to yesterday and save some time reconfiguring everything. Anyone else having market download issues?? i am lost now
     
  9. toker11

    toker11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    211
    7
    36
    ya my market sucks! normally i get on there everyday to browse and see whats new but now its such a pain i hate it!
     
  10. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,395
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL


    Nah dude... read my post further up. Two droids, everything identical. Themes, roms, everything. One has issues, the other does not
     
  11. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    I'm not convinced cause the issue isn't consistent. Humor me an take the vending.apk from a stock frf57 zip and push it to /system/app See if that fixes it.
     
  12. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
  13. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,395
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL
    Didn't help at all. :( It takes about 60 seconds (sometimes longer) to load market home, then equally as long when I go to the downloads page.
     
  14. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    :thinking: Im out of ideas then :mad:
     
  15. csoga

    csoga Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    40
    0
    15
    Market is not working for me either. Stock 2.1 OTA rom, but rooted and P3droid 1ghz. kernel is all.

    It has worked fine for me until yesterday morning, when I started a Metamorph update, then went on to something else and forgot about it.

    Just now, went to Market to check for other updates, and to my surprise, it said Metamorph was still "Starting download". Right now, trying to update several other apps (Root Explorer, JuiceDefender, and LauncherPro) and they are all hung at the same message.

    At first (this morning), WiFi was turned off so I thought maybe the problem was with cell signal... turned on WiFi, have an "excellent" signal strength, still hung.

    Market must have problems right now?
     
  16. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    132
    2
    36
    Maryland
    The way I know the market is screwed is by hitting application->all applications. If you see only 2 categories then the market is still trying to work itself out. It takes a mighty long time to get up and running again. I switched from Froyo to CM and still had the problem. So I'm pretty much done with flashing these ROMs.
     
  17. matrix2004

    matrix2004 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    26
    13
    18
    I don't usually complain but Market is hella slow and will only download then it gets stuck on installing. But i go back and the app did install. Then i'll go back and the app icon is gone but is listed under manage apps. WTF?
     
  18. gotwillk

    gotwillk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    365
    12
    38
    i installed bgill's market fix and its been working fine for me.
     
  19. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,395
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL

    wut? Thats not much info to go on here. Where are the links? ;)
     
  20. csoga

    csoga Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    40
    0
    15
    Really... I'd like to know too.

    Last night around 8-ish, I tried again to update LauncherPro... same problem.

    Then I decided to skip LP, started to update Apps Organizer... and it worked! yeeehaaa... and so did every other app with "update available"... lastly tried LP again and danged if it didn't work too!

    The latest LP update was what I was after the whole time.

    But just now, Market tells me Slacker has "update available" so I start it... that was over 5 minutes ago and still says "starting download" WTF?!?!

    ETA: OK, I cancelled the Slacker update after about 10 minutes, went into Advanced Task Killer and killed a bunch of crap that starts when the phone boots, back to Market, and Slacker downloaded and installed in less than 15 seconds. Unfortunately, I didn't pay attention to what-all I killed. I don't use an Auto-Killer, but an occasional manual "flush the toilet" once in a while is def. worth it!
     
  21. Fadelight

    Fadelight Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    1,395
    95
    148
    Security
    Mulberry, FL
  22. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
  23. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    I am running Kangreanade and have no issues at all.
     
  24. anaphora68

    anaphora68 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    194
    38
    43
    Desk Jockey
    Philadelphia
    Seems to be hit or miss on the market issues. I'm wondering if it just has something do with the fact that there are 3 hundred million different versions of Android out there, and sometimes Google's servers have a hard time authenticating each user/phone. I haven't had any problems recently (2.2, Kangeradge), but my wife has issues sometimes on her rooted 2.1 Droid (JRummy's .8).

    Like I said, it just seems too random.
     
  25. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    132
    2
    36
    Maryland
    I wonder if you can see the flash app with this fix. I'm not signing up for another site just to download this file.
     

Share This Page

Loading...