1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Slow to awake?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by twistedlim, May 20, 2011.

  1. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    Doe sit seem to anyone else the dx2 is slow to wake up after out has been inactive?
     

    Advertisement

  2. rankman

    rankman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    166
    30
    43
    Male
    PA
    Yea I noticed the same thing. I keep telling my self that its froyo not being optimized for dual core and causing delays and gingerbread will fix that. Hope it comes soon!
     
  3. John58543

    John58543 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    341
    27
    43
    West Texas
    Its like an extra second tops....I wouldn't get too worried about it....Gingerbread should fix.
     
  4. nkd

    nkd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    333
    37
    43
    not that bad, I mean we are being way too picky here lol.
     
  5. blog

    blog Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    32
    7
    16
    I noticed it too
    it is literally less than a second delay, but enough to kind of freak you out
     
  6. DEng66

    DEng66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    59
    17
    18
    Montgomery, AL
    I've noticed the RAM use shown under "Running Services" is nearly always maxed out. I have done a factory reset and run the phone with no apps installed and still get crazy memory use. I also noticed that a lot of times hitting home will take me back to a blank screen and then I have to wait for the phone to redraw/reload the icons.....VERY annoying!
     
  7. square

    square Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    506
    24
    63
    blur or 3rd party launcher?
     
  8. i_am_booked

    i_am_booked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    86
    6
    16
    My dx2 is also sluggish to wake. Hopefully gingerbread will fix this.
     
  9. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    I could not take the slow wake up time. It reminded me of my old Cannon 10D camera. A phone of this caliber should on the instant you touch the button. I knew this would gnaw at me so I sent it back. Hopefully it will get fixed in the future as I really liked the screen.
     
  10. dverplank

    dverplank Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I have had this phone since Friday morning. It has not been that great. Every single app on my DX opens faster than the DX2. The live wallpapers are horrible and don't fit right.
    (The screen is great in the sunlight and is superior.)
    If you pinch and zoom in the gallery it is choppy and slow. Music will not play on any player installed without some "lag" for a split second somewhere in the song. I don't understand, the quadrant scores are 2600+ and it zips through but in the real world it sucks???? Not enough ram? Bad phone?
    Thoughts anyone? Ships with a small 8 gig sd card too.
     
  11. DroidFiend

    DroidFiend Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    27
    2
    16
    I haven't experienced slow app opening speeds, except on the gallery. It seems the gallery is slow to open at first, but is instant for consecutive openings. The rest of my apps seem to open just as fast as my OC'ed dx1 when I compare them side by side.

    I also see the gallery issues that you see in regards to zooming, but by the looks of it, the gallery app is a bit different between the dx1 and dx2.

    I haven't tried to play any music, so I can't comment on that yet.
     
  12. DEng66

    DEng66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    59
    17
    18
    Montgomery, AL

    All of the above. I ran Blur with no additional apps installed. Then tried Launcher Pro, ADW, and GO. Still see the same things. I'm just wondering when you guys look under Applications-->Running Services, if you see mostly red. Mine consistently says about 189 to 200 in use on the left side of the screen and on the right usually shows like 15MB + 20 MB. The numbers alone wouldn't bother me, but the constant redrawing of the screen makes me think somethings not right. I'm just wondering if it sounds like something wrong with my phone or some Tegra 2 quirk I don't know how to deal with :eek:
     
  13. DEng66

    DEng66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    59
    17
    18
    Montgomery, AL
    OK, this sounds exactly like what I'm experiencing. The screen redraws and the pauses/skips in music combined with the scary amounts of ram that show in use all the time make me wonder.... My original DX was a workhorse that breezed along no matter what I threw at it and was hoping this would be even better.
     
  14. DroidFiend

    DroidFiend Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    27
    2
    16
    Mine is halfway red. Hovers around 170-180mb, too. I don't see the constant redraws, though. I used blur all day yesterday and then moved on to Launcher Pro today. I didn't experience any home screens going blank.
     
  15. TheHunterOfShadows

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    18
    5
    16
    To each their own. But I installed adw.launcher and couldn't be happier. Used it on the original droid, used it on the fascinate, used it on the thunderbolt and now i am using it on the DX2. I just check the option to keep the launcher in memory and havn't had the problem since.
     
  16. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    The DX2 demo I tested at VZW today did not have the slow to wake issue. I could wake it using the power and home button. Was about a second to wake.
     

Share This Page

Loading...