1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support slow to reconnect to mobile network after being on wifi

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by crackers8199, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    one thing i've noticed is that from time to time, the phone is extremely slow to get back onto the 3g network (no 4g in my area yet) after being on wifi for an extended period of time...

    for example, tonight all night (obviously) at home, i was on wifi. left the house this morning, drove about 1.5 miles to the gas station to get air in the tires...there was a line, so i figured i'd check in on foursquare. no network connection...a few seconds later, it came on.

    the amount of time from me being out of range of my wifi to the time i tried to check in had to be at least five minutes...this is somewhat similiar to the behavior i've noticed when the phone tries to hand off from 4g to 3g (or vice versa).

    has anyone else seen this? i'm running the leaked radios, if that makes a difference...
     

    Advertisement

  2. rezeew

    rezeew Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    160
    65
    73
    Tech Support
    Boston, MA
    Doesn't happen to me a lot, but I have seen it. It's annoying. Hoping a software fix is coming soon.
     
  3. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    So did it do this on the older radio? And if so, have you tried toggling airplane mode to see if it forces a quicker reconnect?
     
  4. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    i don't remember if it did on the other radio, that's a good question...

    and i actually did toggle airplane mode, right as the 3g came back on lol...so i ended up making it take longer :)
     
  5. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    lol! :D

    I'd go back to the older radio and see. Especially if you continue to have connect issues this day.
     
  6. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    eh...the problem is that overall my signal seems to be much more stable with the new radio. especially in low signal areas...
     
  7. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    If that is the case, then your issues of being slow to reconnect to 3G after being on WIFI are worse with the older radio? Or you're just saying the signal strength (dbm's) fluctuate less on the new radio?

    Flashing the radio is so quick and easy it'd be worth a shot to do a comparo. Give it a full day and night to test.

    There will be updates to this phone, hopefully it will fix your issue.
     
  8. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    i meant with the new radio i seem to be able to hold onto a signal longer in low signal areas than i did with the factory radio. perhaps i will go back and give it a shot for a day or two though...can't hurt i suppose.
     
  9. nmbs

    nmbs Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011

    Sep 1, 2011
    49
    15
    18
    MA
    I thought i was just seeing things but this also happens to me and I live in a 4G area. When i try to come out of airplane mode it takes a while to connect to 4G. It also doesn't start syncing automatically.
     
  10. Mr. Link

    Mr. Link Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    280
    246
    68
    Male
    Computer Systems Analyst
    Lancaster, PA
    This happens ALL the time to me...and I'm stock all the way. Grrrrr.
     
  11. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    i'm on the stock radios and this happens to me at home everyday. It's almost impossible for me to send an MMS at home because of it.
     
  12. Mr. Link

    Mr. Link Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    280
    246
    68
    Male
    Computer Systems Analyst
    Lancaster, PA
  13. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    i haven't had that issue...i can send mms while on wifi at home. i don't send them often, but i haven't had any problems sending them when i do...
     
  14. veccster

    veccster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    473
    54
    53
    Headhunter
    Western PA
    Stock here...was fine on wifi all day yesterday. Left and was driving around and could not get a signal at all - no 3g/4g or even 1x. Had several bars through for cell reception.

    I turned off Juice Defender, put it in airplane mode - nothing. I power cycled and it went into 4g right after boot. Worked fine the rest of night. Frustrating!
     
    Mr. Link likes this.
  15. Booya

    Booya Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Also having this problem sometimes. If I leave it on wifi for couple days then try to switch to 3G (no 4G in the area yet), takes a long time to switch over. Then there are moments when it won't connect to 3G and rebooting solves the problem. I like to chalk it up to living in a weak signal area.

    Running stock OS. Juice Defender not installed but thinking about it.
     
  16. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    well, now today i just saw something else new related to wifi - my wifi just went nuts. kept disconnecting and reconnecting from my home wifi even though i had plenty strong signal...wouldn't stay connected til i rebooted.

    connect, disconnect after a few seconds. connect, disconnect after a few seconds. kept doing that til i rebooted, now it's fine. very strange...

    starting to wonder if these are bugs in ICS rather than the radio...
     
  17. William T Riker

    William T Riker Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    476
    130
    68
    Male
    East Coast USA
    flash the EK 06/ 04 radios if you can, connectivity is much much better for me compared to the 05/ 02 radio
     
  18. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78
    already on them, been running them since the day they were leaked.
     
  19. veccster

    veccster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    473
    54
    53
    Headhunter
    Western PA
    Had this problem again today. Was on wifi all day and it worked fine. Left the house and, when I needed data, it wasn't there. Turned off juice defender = nothing..
    Put it in airplane and back = nothing.
    Cycled data and wifi = nothing.
    Power cycled the phone = had 4g upon boot (worked perfectly).

    Not sure what to do about this but I am frustrated. Both times, I had to pull over and wait till it booted before I could load the nav. It's embarrassing when you talk shit about how great your phone is all the time.
     
  20. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    623
    85
    98
    Male
    Financial Systems Support Specialist
    Last cave on the left
    I am having the same issue. It is very frustrating. I took mine back to Verizon last week to see if I could try another phone and they replaced the SIM card (said it was policy to start there). I have noticed a slight improvement. I live in an area with no 4G yet and work in an area with good, strong 4G coverage. It really only seems to happen in my home area with 3G. I am running the newest leaked radios. Gonna give it a couple more days and then go back to Verizona and swap for another GNex to see if any difference.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...