1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

"Slows down" what do they mean?

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by I luv trolling, Jul 21, 2013.

  1. I luv trolling

    I luv trolling Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    179
    9
    36
    Currently, I don't own a 4g phone for metro PCS so I don't have a 4g plan. I have recently been very interested in purchasing the moto x unlocked and activating it on metro. When they say "500mb of fast 4g data, then it slows down" what do they mean? Are the now throttling the 4g and if so how significantly or are they just dropping me down to 3g/EDGE/1X?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    81
    11
    18
    Male
    Atlanta, Ga
    They drop you to 3g/1x. Hopefully with the gsm phones they drop to hspa+ and or throttle the 4g.
     
  3. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Noo they drop your speeds to around 100-200kbps but you stay on 4G which is still good if you get
     
  4. I luv trolling

    I luv trolling Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    179
    9
    36
    Oh thats a bit disappointing. Would've preferred they drop you to 3g since the speeds are comparable but they have more widespread 3g technology. Maybe since it will most likely be a gsm moto x it will utilize tmo's towers
     
  5. jjrx3

    jjrx3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012

    Aug 12, 2012
    391
    58
    53
    Male
    Los Angeles
    not sure about new phones but on my lg connect i used cdma/3g when im not really in the need for 4g or when i get throttled.
     
  6. I luv trolling

    I luv trolling Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    179
    9
    36
    So you're saying it gives you 3g after your data is up or you manually switch it to 3g?
     
  7. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    793
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    793
    122
    93
    It doesn't switch you to the lower network. I don't think that would even be possible without having control over your phone. It keeps you on the 4G but slows down how much bandwidth you get. Considering that LTE is a battery hog, you might want to manually switch to 3G on your own if you are being throttled.
     
  8. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    They throttle all technologies thats the thing nd LTE's not really a battery hog anymore and it would still give overall better performance
     
  9. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    Dial up on steroids.
     
  10. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    not 3g. they slows down to 1x speeds which is 100-200 kb/s. 3g speeds on metro are 300 kb/s to 900 kb/s
     
  11. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    793
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    793
    122
    93
    It always was on my Connect and on my new Lightray it is proving to be. Mind you I don't always get the best Metro signal, but I usually see a drop of about 1% every five minutes on 4G, but if forced to 3G it is a much slower drain. Don't know if that is going to be the case on the Lightray since I cannot seem to find a way to force it to 3G.
     
  12. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Well the Connect was a phone with a known battery drainage issue I know since I had it for awhile and well the Lightray is the Lightray :p
    Didn't read any Lightray reviews?
     
    mike28 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...