1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Smart Actions for the Bionic!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fatpomp, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. fatpomp

    fatpomp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    272
    114
    68
    Male
    Welder/Fabricator
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Just saw this and wanted to share. If its already been posted sorry.:)

    DROID RAZR
     

    Advertisement

    goldz28 likes this.
  2. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #244
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    871
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    871
    204
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Is there a way to use Smart Actions to turn on WiFi based on location? I have tried everything I can find, but am told that WiFi needs to be on to determine location. I have been using Setting Profiles and it knows when I am near my most used WiFi access points and turns on WiFi for me, so I know it can be done. I love the interface for Smart Actions, but that particular function is the one I rely on most.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated,
    BigRedGonzo
     
  3. Maddog241

    Maddog241 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    95
    14
    18
    I'm wondering if this may be a limitation because this program wasn't intended for the Bionic. I find wi-fi and airplane mode actions greyed out if I use a location-based trigger. Wi-fi is required to be turned on when using a location based trigger, so both the wi-fi radio must be on and the LTE radio is on as well. Correct me if I'm wrong, but won't this be worse on the battery to have both running at the same time?

    I am missing the ability to turn off cellular data which exists in the tutorials I have watched. Could this be for the same reason (Razr program)? I am going to check a co-worker's Razr this morning to see if the function is the same.

    I looked at a Razr and there were 2 actions that are not in the list on my Bionic. One was "brightness" and the other was "cellular data". Maybe this version doesn't comppletely function on the Bionic like it does on the Razr.

    Can someone please check their install and see if these 2 action are listed?
     
  4. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    There will also be differences in behavior if it's installed on the Bionic as a user app, since it's a system app on the RAZR.
     
  5. Riverman

    Riverman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    101
    17
    38
    I don't have the brightness or cellular data triggers, either, and quite a few things don't seem to work right. Without wi-fi, it doesn't know where it is, so it stays on work mode even after I leave since it can't pick up a wi-fi signal out on the street, and none of the charging triggers work.

    UncleMike, do you know if there's a way to install it as a system app?
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    To install a as system app you have to be rooted.

    I'm playing with it on a rooted phone running an ICS ported ROM....I seem to have more options available. When you set up your phone initially, did you disable geolocation services? That may be part of the problem.....
     
  7. Maddog241

    Maddog241 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    95
    14
    18
    All of my 3 GPS options are enabled, but I am not rooted. Is that what you were referring to?
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    To install as a system app you have to be rooted.

    The GPS options I was wondering about regarding the ability to do the location thing, but I have no saved locations message on my phone (but I'm not stock either).
     
  9. TexasBadger

    TexasBadger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #311
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    284
    124
    78
    Structural Engineer
    Dallas Area
    I have the WiFi-location issue, but there are other bugs as well. For example, I made a rule to play Pandora automatically when plugged into the standard desk dock. Instead, it automatically plays my stored music files (mostly ringtones).
     
  10. Bowslayer

    Bowslayer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    237
    34
    43
    None of it is working for me. All my rules are time based yet none of them are activating???
    Ive looked for conflicts but see no issues there??
     
  11. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Location won't work without wifi. Motorola designed it this way. A guy on the development team said as much. They think just using cell id is unsatisfactory and users would complain. Using the gps chip would be too costly in battery life. He said the wifi chip uses so little power now that it isn't an impact. Can't please everyone I guess.
     
  12. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #244
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    871
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    871
    204
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    I don't understand how that could be because one of the examples that are given is to use it to turn on WiFi when you get home.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  13. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    That's right. What time do you get home... :) Don't shoot the messenger
     
  14. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #244
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    871
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    871
    204
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Sorry, I didn't by any means want to sound like I was "shooting the messenger." I just meant that some of their examples use location to activate WiFi. I use Setting Profiles and it works great in that department. When I arrive at work, home or at the local Starbucks, Setting Profiles uses non-WiFi based location to fire a rule to turn WiFi on. It also turns it off when I leave. One would think that if a third party solution could accomplish that task, the OEM would be able to do the same.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  15. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    It was in jest. I can't get the hacked version to work at all btw.
     
  16. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #244
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    871
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    871
    204
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    I'm not sure if I had it working or not. I tried it for a couple of hours with things like going to vibrate during a meeting. The history said the rule fired, but I don't know if it was working or not. After I found that you had to have a rule to begin a meeting and then another to end a meeting, I uninstalled it. Here is the scenario that concerned me. You have two meetings that overlap (that happens a lot here because I work with mostly computer illiterate idiots,) the rule for the first meeting fires and puts the phone into vibrate, then the rule for the second meeting fires while the first meeting is still active. That no problem because they both place the phone into vibrate only mode. Now heres the rub, the first meeting ends (scheduled) while you are still in the second meeting (remember they overlapped,) the end meeting rule for the first meeting will place the phone back in "normal" mode, which will allow the phone to ring, beep, etc...

    I was really excited about Smart Actions to begin with, because it was OEM produced. Now that I see how it works, I believe I'll just stick with Setting Profiles. It works well and the rules you set are persistent. You can also prioritize rules so that they don't overrule one another. For example, I have an end of day meeting that ends early, so I decide to take off for the rest of the day. My car dock rule has a higher priority than my meeting rule, so when I plug my phone into the car dock the volumes get set properly, bluetooth turns on, etc..., even though the meeting rule is still active.

    Anyway, my rant is over. The grass is not always greener....

    BigRedGonzo
     
  17. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    I get that. There are so many apps like this. Tasker locale llama timeriffic automateit y5 all have some of the same advantages and problems. Honestly windows mobile 6 worked the best for this. Profiles bases on calendared items.
     
  18. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #244
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    871
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    871
    204
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Yea, I've tried a few of them, but I keep going back to Setting Profiles. Tasker seemed to have a lot of potential, but it was, IMO, difficult to use, really difficult. I think I actually bought AutomateIt, but after using it for a while decided I didn't care for it. In my case, I tend to stick with what I get used too. Truth be known, that's how most of us roll.

    Cheers,
    BigRedGonzo
     
  19. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    You may want to try y5 battery saver for a very simple app that turns wifi on and off at your hotspots. Very simple.
     
    BigRedGonzo likes this.
  20. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I started out with Locale, which worked great - but ate resources up lousily. I haven't gotten around to setting up Tasker now, but I don't mind an initial steep learning curve - Tasker is way more robust than the others, but a lot or people don't ever bother really digging into it. For simpler control SP is probably the best, although I've heard some good things about another one - can't remember name....
     
  21. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    I had a problem, and found a solution. Figured I would share.

    when I would try to add a location, I got a mostly blank white screen that said "No meaningful locations to display"

    I thought, ok, how do I add a meaningful location?

    There is supposed to be a green plus sign in the upper right corner. I was not seeing this. I found out it's because for somereason, I was missing the Social Location app. I found the APK here: Location triggers - Smart actions - xda-developers and now I see the green plus sign.

    hope this helps someone.
     
  22. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,243
    Posts:
    11,700
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,700
    4,842
    1,243
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    That app is reputed to be the biggest (at least one of the biggest) battery hogs that you can have. Perhaps that's the reason it wasn't present. (Perhaps a root-ed Bionic that deleted it?)

    ... Thom
     
  23. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    Does this app completely not work for anyone else?
     
  24. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    It completely doesn't work for me. Back to llama.
     
  25. Bowslayer

    Bowslayer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    237
    34
    43
    It actually triggered a profile One time for me but after that I had to manually select them. Tasker works perfectly however it killed my battery life something horrible
     

Share This Page

Loading...