1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Smoothest most stable Rom currently

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PMUSER, Jan 30, 2014.

  1. PMUSER

    PMUSER Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    45
    3
    16
    Male
    Accountant
    Katy, TX
    Ok guys I have been lurking for a while now and have not pulled the trigger on a rom yet. I don't need the latest and greatest rom so much as I need the smoothest most stable Rom. What do you guys suggest?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kasenomateru

    Kasenomateru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013

    Oct 30, 2013
    298
    42
    43
    Male
    AOKP is pretty stable but it has some minor bugs
     
  3. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    in my opinion the absolute most stable rom for the elite is still stock or harmonia.
     
  4. rone3

    rone3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013

    Aug 24, 2013
    45
    2
    36
    Sleipnir.
     
  5. saidiadude

    saidiadude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013

    Aug 4, 2013
    189
    44
    43
    Sleipnir is very stable - haven't had any reboots in a few months of use. There is a slight UI bug that is annoying though (Black text on Gray background for certain notifications). Haven't heard from the developer for quite a while now (Artine) but he's been going through some tough times. I'm ready to jump ship to CM10 once Phenom releases the next version.

    Edit 4/23/2104: In my experience, Phenom's AOKP 4.2.2 JB has been the most stable and solid ROM for the Elite (some minor bugs are being ironed out). You can get it here:
    [ROM][BETA][4.2.2] AOKP Jelly Bean for Virgin Mobile and Sprint 4/9/2014
     
  6. callmeshulah

    callmeshulah Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 31, 2013

    May 31, 2013
    30
    3
    16
    i run stock rooted (cleaned out bloat with titanium)and just flashed the overclocked kernel. run no-frills to set clock n what not. does what it needs to =)
     
  7. xry75

    xry75 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013

    Mar 26, 2013
    126
    26
    63
    Male
    xray tech
    Cm10 version out now is good only time I've had reboots is during a few certain games. Other than that its great!
     
  8. PMUSER

    PMUSER Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    45
    3
    16
    Male
    Accountant
    Katy, TX
    I am having almost daily reboots with stock so I will probably try Sleipnir first and then flirt with CM10 once it gets some bugs ironed out Thanks guys for your input
     
  9. OptimusV123

    OptimusV123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012

    Mar 22, 2012
    164
    20
    38
    Male
    Advanced Auto Parts
    Michigan
  10. Kasenomateru

    Kasenomateru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013

    Oct 30, 2013
    298
    42
    43
    Male
    Leslie Ann's Deodex stock rom and uot kitchen for your own themes of you know how to use uot kitchen
     
  11. gypsyr0ad

    gypsyr0ad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    28
    1
    16
    I love AOKP, having zero issues with it
     
  12. NetSpeedZ

    NetSpeedZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    440
    31
    43
    Male
    IT Engineer
    Southwest
    Ditto - AOKP is the best and most customizable ROM for the Elite to date. Other than the battery states being slightly off and the 'Daily Reboot' not working (both pretty minor issues that I've posted to the issue tracker for AOKP), this is a solid and very smooth running ROM.

    ------------
     
  13. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    I actually have some significant issues with aokp on this phone myself, each elite is different however and each will handle different roms in different ways
     
  14. NetSpeedZ

    NetSpeedZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    440
    31
    43
    Male
    IT Engineer
    Southwest
    Record those issues in the issue tracker. That's what its for ;)

    ------------
     
  15. gypsyr0ad

    gypsyr0ad Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    28
    1
    16
    Last night when I got my phone back off my friend,I let him borrow it, he claimed it did reboot quite a few times, all he did was play CandyCrush/ other games.

    The only time it rebooted on me was when using the groove ip app, but that is the apps fault not the phones.

    I still say if you do the brick recovery method and completely wipe the phone, then flash AOKP, it works the best.
     
  16. hashoil1o1

    hashoil1o1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    33
    1
    16
    touchwiz rom. with CM10.. I havent had any issue with this rom.. Altho i did have issue with CM10 Phenomix Verison.. I do not have the issues with the touchwiz...
     
  17. Junkyarddog269

    Junkyarddog269 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    78
    5
    16
    As previously posted every elite is different and each time you flash things don't always install correctly I have had to reflash ROMs in the past to get a ROM to run correctly also it helps to make sure your not leaving remnants of other ROMs when flashing a new one it can cause some conflicting issues. I'm no pro by no means just a ROM flashing addict lol
     
  18. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    I personally was in love with Ken's GSnap on 2.3.7. It was the fastest, most stable, and best looking ROM for me when I had my elite. If I hadn't gotten a new phone, I'm pretty sure I'd still be running it to this day. The only thing that didn't work was you couldn't create folders, but you had enough home screens it didn't really matter.
     
  19. freedomwarrior

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    65
    10
    18
    Male
    unemployed
    For some reason I am always going back to using "Slepnier".
     
  20. Fenix23

    Fenix23 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    56
    0
    15
    Male
    Systems Engineering Student
    VA
    As of right now, the most stable ROM I've flashed has been Phenom's AOKP 4.2.2. I haven't had ANY reboots other than one that was my own fault. It runs like a racecar, especially with the right governor (I've been most impressed with ondemandx, smoothass, and smartassv2). It's my recommendation for the time being.
     
  21. phenomx4

    phenomx4 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,302
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012

    Jul 28, 2012
    1,302
    1,952
    333
    Male
    None
    North Las Vegas , Nevada
    And to think that current rom doesn't have HW acceleration yet.
     
    ronii likes this.
  22. ronii

    ronii Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    242
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    242
    10
    48
    Male
    I guess it really is true all elites r different lol
     
  23. NetSpeedZ

    NetSpeedZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    440
    31
    43
    Male
    IT Engineer
    Southwest
    What I/O are you using, out of curiosity?
     
  24. Fenix23

    Fenix23 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014

    Jan 2, 2014
    56
    0
    15
    Male
    Systems Engineering Student
    VA
    CFQ currently. I've tried most, but found CFQ to work best, but I don't know what the different I/O affect, so I'm going off of noticeable performance in average use. I can tell you that using smartassv2 at 1024 and CFQ, I can use most features with no issues and still milk between 8 and 10 hours out of my battery with moderate usage, most of the time. Works as smooth as you please for me for most tasks, and the ROM in general is really stable for me.
     
  25. LowEndGeek

    LowEndGeek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    1024 max I assume?
     

Share This Page

Loading...