1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root So did you think I bricked it or not?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mike00, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. mike00

    mike00 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    What I did:

    Last week I tried to root my thunderbolt using some directions I found on the forums. Apparently, I missed a step or just failed all together. The rom flashed and everything appeared to be okay. I was able to load into the phone and download a few apps to check root. I was told I did not achieve root. Bummer.

    Today I decided to try it again using another method a friend linked me. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UK_CiB2SYk) I ended up receiving an error message in revolutionary (which I was trying to copy down before it crashed out all together). Then the problems started...

    Immediately I wasn't able to boot into my phone and have been stuck at the splash logo ever since.

    I've downloaded a factory rom and followed these instructions: (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/th...-so-you-need-unroot-put-stock-image-back.html)

    But upon trying to flash the rom I get an error that says: "Main Version is older! Update Fail!". So that's where I'm at. Did I brick it all to hell?


    What I know:
    Bootloader shows S-ON
    HBOOT 1.04.0000
    RADIO 1.16.00.0223r
    Feb 23 20011, 20:42:55

    Also, when I booted before I made sure I had deleted the pg05img from the directory.

    If there is any other info I can give please ask. Looking back... backing things up was a good idea. Which I knew... play with fire, get the burn.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    I don't think you are bricked. You have the stock hboot on your phone, you could try to flash a stock RUU file and see if that will fix the issue with the not being able to boot, I think you could also try using revolutionary again to root
     
  3. mike00

    mike00 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Well that's good news. I did try to flash a stock RUU file I found but kept getting that error.

    I also tried revolutionary again, but unfortunately it just reads: 'Waiting for device.'
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    HTC will not allow you to flash an older version than what is currently on your phone. Try either the MR2 RUU or one of the leaked RUU files that have came out...I know one leaked 2 days ago and was posted over at android police.
     
  5. mike00

    mike00 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Thank you. I'll give that a try right now. If anything at all, this has been one hell of a learning lesson/life lesson.

    :rolleyes:
     
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Luckly Android is a very durable OS and these devices are very hard to actually brick, the more you tinker and make mistakes the more you learn about the OS and how to do stuff.
     
  7. mike00

    mike00 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    So I loaded into HBOOT. Clicked bootloader. It checked the file, returned zero errors, but instead of giving me an option it update, it just went to the menu that says:

    FASBOOT
    RECOVERY
    FACTORY RESET
    SIMLOCK
    HBOOT USB
    IMAGE CD

    Am I missing a step, or is this another problem all together?
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    :eek: Did you put the PG05IMG.zip file on the root of the SD? the phone will not see it if it is any other name and it looks like the phone isn't seeing it for you.
     
  9. mike00

    mike00 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
  10. mike00

    mike00 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Sep 22, 2011
    6
    0
    5
  11. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Okay you were either on the firmware you were trying to flash or newer if you were perhaps on a prior leak. Glad it worked for you. If you want to try rooting again use Revolutionary on a different computer perhaps. Glad you are back up and running!
     
  12. superstretch

    superstretch Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    131
    27
    43
    Rochester, NY
    There have been some times when I've rooted/flashed and things seemed really hosed, but I've found that as long as the hardware doesn't fry, there's almost always a way to get it back working, rooted, and rom-ed
     

Share This Page

Loading...