1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General So, how is the OTA treating you?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by starfox221, May 12, 2011.

  1. Wanderlusterer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    71
    22
    18
    I'd try doing the factory reset. What's the harm? At least then you'll know if it helps. I'd also call Verizon Corporate and just talk to someone in the tech support department and be very specific with them and tell them what you're going to do. Make sure they record the information.

    Then try the reset and if it doesn't work, call them back and tell them what happened. From there, they should understand you've done what you can and the ball is in their court.

    Corporate usually seems to handle things a bit better than the stores, imho. Just be sure they understand what you've done, even if you have to repeat yourself...
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    For anyone with 95% battery showing when light is green on charge:

    I'm surprised you haven't seen the 95% thing before on the Thunderbolt.

    Once at full charge, the phone will run off the battery, until it hits its low-power mark, and then it will begin to charge again. The low mark point varies by Android make and model and is anywhere from 92~96%.

    To calibrate the charging circuit: place on charger until green; immediately take off charger + power down + put back on charger until green; immediately take off charger + power up + put back on charger until green; repeat until immediately green in either state.

    They do this to prevent fires - trickle charging this battery tech would cause a fire.

    FWIW - this is exactly the way modern laptop charging cycles work, for the same reason. Many people buy laptop batteries because they won't seem to go above 93% when it's just a misunderstanding and the battery is still ok.
     
  3. honda95freek

    honda95freek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    EarlyMon, if i do the factory data reset, once its done, will i then need to check for the update again and reinstall it? and should i do that right away? like before i reinstall my apps and everything?
     
  4. MSUTigger

    MSUTigger Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    This is a new thing on the TB. It's always done what you mentioned with a quick drain. But this drops with a few seconds of disconnecting the power.
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Nope.

    Android = Linux + Dalvik Virtual Machine + apps that run inside Dalvik VM (and use Linux services)

    The reset clears out ALL of the Dalvik VM's cache and data areas. We do that because on a version change, the Android update process doesn't seem to clear out old parts of cache/data that may be incompatible with the update.

    Any update will change software in Linux and/or Dalvik VM and/or apps.

    The reset erases your apps because they weren't there for an out-of-box, squeaky-clean Android install.

    The reset will not erase any part of an update (unless the update didn't install correctly).

    So - it's safe to check for a pending update after the reset, but if you see it wants to do it again as it did for one other guy, please post back right away.

    Hmmmm. Well - now that's very interesting. Based on that, the first thing I'd ask if the update were clearing or changing a defect in the charging firmware. If the circuit calibration procedure didn't fix this observable, then I'd start screaming that there's more wrong with this update. But I'd personally try to first re-calibrate it as suggested to be sure.

    If it turns out to be an update that's that bad, I'll quickly remove my post on the cal procedure.
     
  6. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I am at 14h with 78% battery left. As I typed this the phone rebooted lol.
     
  7. rocky s.

    rocky s. Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    207
    71
    53

    Hey thanks for this info. EarlyMon. Did my factory reset today after getting my update on Thursday just to make sure as you say that nothing old is "tangled" with anything new. The cool thing is that what made it less painful was that the handful of must-have apps I had (and lost with the reset) had always been set for auto updating - which I guess is why they were then searched for and restored automatically upon factory reset and reboot! :) So, time will tell how stable everything is post update and reset.

    Oh, one more thing, this goes to show once again the need to keep ourselves self-educated on this stuff and what an asset the forum becomes in this effort. Seriously, it's not like verizon or htc is cranking out any consistent or credible information when they do things like release an update. Oh yeah...note to htc: htc sense UI, htc sense.com, and htc sync are all very different things. It took me many conversations over time with your tech support team on various topics to figure out that you wrongly reference these things interchangeably. ;)

    Good luck with the update all!!
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  8. behrooz

    behrooz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    91
    4
    36
    Southern IL
    I'm over teh reboots, since I have the new software I have about 6-10 a day, my replacement is going to be here next week:) thank the gods !
     
  9. Gravytrain

    Gravytrain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    547
    125
    93
    How do you guys get replacemts? Insurance?
     
  10. willdogs

    willdogs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    665
    211
    113
    Ok so after I factory reset my phone is all gravy. It seems that anyone having issues AFTER the update SHOULD factory reset their phone. Wonder why Verizon isn't instructing people to do this?

    After I factory Wiped, I had No More Reboots, The GPS Locks On Instantly Now, Battery Seems to drain slower (longer Life), etc...

    The Phone is near Perfect now. Only outstanding issue I can see is the new "95% Battery" issue I reported earlier. This didn't start happening until after the update. I will try the recalibration method, but don't have high hopes for it. Funny thing is that even though I am losing 5% battery off the top, it is lasting longer throughout the day. Go figure!


    To Those of you getting replacements due to the phone acting screwy after the update, I would HIGHLY suggest doing a factory wipe before calling Verizon for a replacement. No Need for a replacement when it is obviously a software issue. I'd want to hold onto my NEW Original phone as long as possible and keep away from a refurb if I could avoid it.
     
  11. honda95freek

    honda95freek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    I just did a factory data reset and now its rebooting more than it did before! Been up for about 3 hrs and have had 3 reboots and one shut off. now what!
     
  12. 3ricG

    3ricG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011

    Apr 25, 2011
    215
    9
    36
    Philadelphia
    Before the update, my battery lasted about 12 hrs, now it lasts 7... :(
     
  13. Mallissa

    Mallissa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    400
    69
    53
    Female
    OH
    A factory wipe was the first thing I tried, as I really thought that would help. Went through 3 reboots yesterday, and then today I couldn't even browse without it rebooting. I agree that its a software issue, but the wipe really didn't work for me. My husbands on the other hand has been great nice the update. Go figure. :rolleyes:
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  14. WildH

    WildH Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    251
    27
    43

    That's so odd. Mine is fine too. Others have problems. I dont get what is causing it. I wonder if its a specific app.....
     
  15. Mallissa

    Mallissa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    400
    69
    53
    Female
    OH
    I read about people having problems, so I completely uninstalled all my apps (about 10), did the update and did the wipe after that. I didnt put any back on, and the manager today said thats what It was, until he looked and I didn't have any. So hopefully the new phone will do it.
     
  16. pedtech

    pedtech Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    19
    2
    16
    I originally had the 1st day release of the TUNDERBOLT. MINe.....sucked! lost data, etc. I tried everything....couldnt handle the unreliability after about 13 days.....switched to iphone.

    Never had problems with the iphone......decided to make the plung again with the TBOLT with a later build date. (figured the 1st ones were crap)

    2nd time around......TBOLT awesome. Didnt need a thing. This is after verizons network shutdown (more like reconfiguring i think).

    Never had a problem since then. Now OTA the update and a day or two of messing with it.

    No problems whatsoever, no reboots. NOTHING at all wrong.

    My opinion.....the 1st Tbolts were crap. The ones out now are just fine.

    I advise not working with your old ones anymore, definately dont take a used refurfished one from verizon. DEMAND a new one that was manufactured later.

    Its just very unreal how this one is fine, and the other had so many problems.

    Good luck out there guys. OTA update is fine for newer TBOLTS!
     
  17. honda95freek

    honda95freek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    I got mine a month after they came out and I'm having problems since the update, and I did the factory data reset. In fact its worse since I did it! It sounds more like it's luck of the draw
     
  18. willdogs

    willdogs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    665
    211
    113
    Update:
    This morning I unplugged my phone from the charger and I did not encounter the 95% issue. It was at 100% when i unplugged it and never moved from there. I am still holding strong at 98% an hour later. Not sure why It happened yesterday and not today. Very strange indeed
     
  19. jcnyc

    jcnyc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    293
    31
    43
    After using the update for a week, I can safely say my battery drains faster than before. Not significantly faster but faster . . . *sigh
     
  20. Gravytrain

    Gravytrain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    May 7, 2011

    May 7, 2011
    547
    125
    93
    I just got off the phone with tech support and of course she sounded like this was the first time she has heard of the issue. Anyways, they are sending a replacement and we'll see how that goes... :fingerscrossed:
     
  21. Wanderlusterer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    71
    22
    18
    @VZWSupport (via Twitter) is advising that doing a master reset to the phone will solve the rebooting issue. :rolleyes:

    Keep in mind these were the same people that told me last week to fix the internet dropping out issue by switching the parameters to exclude 4G service.
     
  22. willdogs

    willdogs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    665
    211
    113
    I believe this is the fix (unfortunately) for Many (Not all).

    VzW should have just included a full wipe when they sent the update. I'm guessing they didn't due to the fact that they would have gotten even more complaints from people who would have "lost data" due to a full wipe.
     
  23. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    Had a few more reboots over the last couple of days.

    1. On Saturday, I restarted my phone and it immediately rebooted while the phone was loading Sense. I had the phone off while charging for about an hour...

    2. I'm pretty sure another reboot happened later that night... but I didn't see it happen. The only reason I know about it is because my phone's "uptime" and "since last plugged in time" was much lower than it should have been - about 10 hours lower.

    3. The next reboot just happened now as I'm sitting at my desk. Phone is just sitting there, not being used for at least 30 mins... screen turned off. I see out of the corner of my eye that the screen is now at the HTC boot screen.

    I've also noticed that the Thunderbolt boot animation no longer plays the thunder sound.
     
  24. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    And rebooted again.... and then again... now it seems like I'm in a boot loop every 15 mins!!!
     
  25. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    and another one... turning my phone for a few hours... maybe something will magically change?
     

Share This Page

Loading...