1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General So, I FINALLY did it... SGH-I717UCLE2 (ICS 4.0.4)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Talderon, May 21, 2012.

  1. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
     #138
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,701
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,701
    441
    183
    Ah, I see. Sorry, I misunderstood. I wonder if it's Samsung's doing due to TouchWiz or AT&T monkeying around?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jjohnson1

    jjohnson1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    36
    6
    16
    Atlanta
    Everything seems to be working fine for me with the exception of Facebook. It seems to have trouble with GPS. It's odd, the widget works and I can load fb on the browser just fine. The app just struggles to load my news. It just sits spinning at "loading". Sometimes it will load just fine if I change a setting or something and go back to it. I can see my messages and view my albums just fine, but the news feed just refuses to load 90% of the time. Very strange.
     
  3. bgardner15

    bgardner15 Member
    Rank:
     #1,218
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    60
    1
    16
    not able to get torrent? I got it thanks
     
  4. gbaird

    gbaird Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    I haven't had the battery percentage issues but I have two extra batteries. While one is in the phone, the empty one is charging and one is in reserve. The full battery always shows 100%.

    I usually get between 10-16 hr of run time with moderate use. Heavy use nets around 6-8 hr but with the extra batteies it's a non issue.
     
  5. vice86

    vice86 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    217
    22
    58
    Male
    PA/NJ/NYC
    this may be a dumb question, but with ICS do out "soon"...why not just wait that month or two for the official release?

    What's the advantage, if any, of using this over the official? Is it just to have it already?
     
  6. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    No advantage at all.

    I passed on all of the other leaks because they were more base OS leaks than a truly "polished" leak. This one is great because it's pretty close (if not already) finished. Has everything they promised and after others flashed and reported it working and stable. I decided to give it a go. So, I use this as my daily driver with no regret and, to me, it's not worth waiting since it's here now.

    Hope that sheds some light on things for you.

    Thanks,
     
  7. chriskwarren

    chriskwarren Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    41
    5
    16
    Besides the fun/tinkering factor, there can be performance increases or even bug fixes.

    I got m phone in April and I noticed in late April that when I went from one area to another, I lost data (came back with a reboot). Bell tech said the ICS update that was supposed to come out any time now might fix the issue. Otherwise, send in for warranty (a factory reset did not fix the issue).

    Then the April update was pushed to May, and now to June. I am afraid that if I keep waiting for this update, it might go into August.

    I am traveling internationally in early August and need this phone, so rather than send in for warranty and go without a phone, I flashed ICS yesterday to see if the issue is fixed (appears to be so far). When it comes out officially from my carrier, I might put that ROM on there, or wait for someone to improve the Bell ICS ROM.

    I'll reset the flash counter and install the stock ROM if I do need warranty.


    edit: I am using this one: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1669170

    Has the S-Voice and Galaxy S3 touchwiz installed.
     
  8. gbaird

    gbaird Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    21
    0
    15

    I did it to aggravate a friend. He has the Galaxy-SII and continually threw it in my face how his phone was going to get ICS before the Note.

    I thought he was going to throw his phone when he saw ICS on mine. I didn't intend on keeping it but it's so stable and runs so well that I decided to.
     
  9. diaper84

    diaper84 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011

    Oct 3, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    Hey have you been using visual voicemail before ics?
    Mine stopped working after ics install. No biggie but hopefully it will get fixed with official ics update.
     
  10. themetnut

    themetnut Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Hi everyone, first time poster here. I flashed the ICS 4.0.4 leak and have had great results with it. Battery Life is the same as GB, GPS works great, no problems with reception. The problem I am having with the leak is it seems like once a day or so my phone will either reboot on it's own. Very annoying when I am listening to my music through bluetooth in the car. Any suggestions? Thanks!
     
  11. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    You'll hate this, but try a reset. This isn't a common issue so may be from a hiccup from the original flash.
     
  12. KnghtRyd3r

    KnghtRyd3r Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 25, 2012

    May 25, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Mobile, AL
    After fully charging my battery times are back to normal.
     
  13. chriskwarren

    chriskwarren Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    41
    5
    16
    Could also be that the cache and dalvik cache were not wiped.

    Here is a snipped of a great post I saw at XDA:
    Source: [REF] Start up guide for rooting, recovery, ROMs, de-brick, and tether updated 05/23 - xda-developers

    I wiped all three using CWM Recovery (ClockworkMod Recovery) three times before installing my rom to ensure I would help avoid strange issues.

    That source post above is a great resource for noobies BTW...I read it several times last week.
     
  14. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    Is anyone else having this issue?

    When playing full screen games, OR, watching flash videos full screen from websites, the screen does not stay on. It will dim and then eventually go out.

    Thanks.
     
  15. chriskwarren

    chriskwarren Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012

    Apr 19, 2012
    41
    5
    16
  16. themetnut

    themetnut Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks for the ideas, I did a full factory reset and reflashed the rom, and so far I haven't had any issues, the
    Real test will be when I have to go to work tomorrow and I use my phone to listen to my podcasts through sync. Is it just as easy to revert back to GB so I can update to the official ICS from at&t?
     
  17. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    Why revert? Someone will snag the update file and share it anyway. :)

    Glad things are working out! I am tempted to do the same this weekend because of the screen off issue I posted above. :)
     
    themetnut likes this.
  18. themetnut

    themetnut Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    That's true, I'll wait for the official release, but it makes you wonder what exactly will be different in the official release. Speaking of the ICS rom, does anyone know how to brighten the notifications in the notification bar? They seem to have gotten dimmer. Thanks again!
     
  19. jjohnson1

    jjohnson1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    36
    6
    16
    Atlanta
    Talderon

    I'm interested in reloading/reseting this rom in an attempt to clear up some minor issues I'm having. I read on xda that before loading a new rom you should always "clear the cache"? I'm having some issues with my touch key sounds not working, and GPS issues with facebook. Your guide is my first attempt at a new rom, so I was hoping you could give some advice. Should I install the titanium backup app in order to keep all my apps/settings? How do I clear the phone's cache prior to reflashing this ICS rom? Any help is appreciated! Thanks.
     
  20. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    Unless you are rooted (now someone correct me if I am wrong, because this is my first Samsung android phone (always had HTC's)), you really can't clear the cache manually. You can do a factory reset before you flash, which is about as close as you can get. Once done, then you can flash this ROM using the guide above.

    Now, Titanium Backup. For the type of backup/restore you are asking about, you need to be rooted. I normally only backup Applications and App Data, NEVER system.

    Now, when going from GB to ICS, I would refrain from backing anything up with the intention of restoring it. Completely different file system structure and OS Frameworks. If you can backup the data natively in the app, do it that way. Doing backups and restores can add a layer of instability that may have come over with whatever is in the app/data. If the app itself does not have a backup/restore feature, I tend to not back it up.

    BE WARNED: EVERYTHING you backup to "SD Card" in the apps will be backed up to the INTERNAL SD Card. THIS WILL BE WIPED WHEN UPGRADING!!! Back it up to your external card or PC BEFORE you even start!!

    Hope this helps.

    Thanks!
     
    jjohnson1 likes this.
  21. jjohnson1

    jjohnson1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    36
    6
    16
    Atlanta
    Excuse my n00bness, how do I just backup my apps? Not a bid deal to setup email again or anything, but I'd like to keep all my current installed apps. I don't currently have an sd card for the phone yet but was planning to pick one up so I could start using it for these types of things.

    Edit: If I backup something on the sd card, can't I just take the card out during the upgrade and pop it back in once everything is done?
     
  22. Talderon

    Talderon Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    1,038
    247
    163
    Microsoft Corp. - Sr. Systems Engineer
    Seattle, WA
    OK, the Note has 2 "SD Cards"... Since it comes with 16GB of internal memory, it allocates a portion to "Internal" RAM which is where your OS and apps/data lives. The "SD Card" is actually the remainder of the internal memory. Now, when I speak about the External SD Card, this is the actual PHYSICAL card you insert into the phone. This is the one that you can remove and not lose data on. the INTERNAL one (or the default SD Card) WILL be wiped when flashing this new ROM.

    As for backing up the apps, it's just best to let Google Play keep track of what you have installed and as soon as you link to your Google account and launch the Play Store, it will push the apps you had installed. If not, just re-install. This is the best way to go for stability, especially for a stock non-rooted ROM.

    In more simple terms, pretend you are on Windows XP and upgrade to Windows 7. They are both windows, but completely different. You can't just copy apps over directly from one OS version to another and expect it all to work without issues (or even work at all). This is the same kind of deal going from GB to ICS. It's Android, but it's different. Reinstall is the safest way to go.
     
    jjohnson1 likes this.
  23. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    4,087
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    4,087
    2,667
    533
    Female
    AZ
    Before you remove the external SD card from your phone, make sure you go into the settings/storage/sd card/ and "unmount" so that your data stays intact, otherwise you might not be able to get the data back when you re-insert the SD card. Then when you put it back into the phone, make sure you "mount" it again.:)
     
  24. esj1940

    esj1940 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012

    Mar 28, 2012
    9
    2
    6
    Why is it necessary to remove the external SD card after it is unmounted? Doesn't unmounting the card effectively remove the card from the system?
     
  25. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    4,087
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    4,087
    2,667
    533
    Female
    AZ
    My answer was regarding the post that I was answering where the poster asked if they could just take it (SD card) out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...