1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support So I installed the webOS update today...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by untitled1, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. untitled1

    untitled1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    158
    19
    58
    So I installed the webOS update today, and now I'm not able to boot into Android anymore. Do I need to repeat the whole process, or just certain steps?
     

    Advertisement

  2. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    What webOS update was that?

    I would think you'd just flash moBoot, but it won't hurt if you flash CM7 again. Grab the latest ACME Installer tho. If you grabbed it early in the game, it was updated after that.

    Guess I'll go see if I can break mine. :D

    WebOS 3.0.4.

    The forums say to reflash moBoot.
     
  3. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Took two tries to check for updates, then took forever to download, then I kept getting the HP startup screen over and over. Finally I reset it and that didn't help.

    Luckily I had already downloaded the new webOS Doctor file so restored it back which also took awhile. Had to try 2 email accounts before I figured out which one I used, then had to enter my router password 5 times before I got into their server (said no Internet connection). Honest, I'm a good typer. :D

    So now lets see what it takes to get CM7 running again. Then I'll figure out how to get preware going again. Geez, what an update.
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Here's what fixed it for me.

    Copy all 4 files to your cminstall folder (cm7, gapps, moboot, cwm), then run:

    novacom boot mem:// < ACMEInstaller

    from a command window again.

    If you just flash moboot, you'll get the boot menu but w/o CM7.
    If you don't flash cwm, you won't get recovery.
    The only thing that seems optional might be the Google Apps, but it won't hurt to flash all 4. :D

    All my apps were back, recovery works.
     
  5. untitled1

    untitled1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    158
    19
    58
    I'll try that when I get home tonight. Thank you.
     
  6. awells527

    awells527 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    113
    12
    58
    Support Desk
    NW Indiana
    The WebOS update killed mine too but a reflash using novacom brought it back to normal.
     
  7. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I lucked out when I updated my wife's webOS BEFORE installing CM7.1 for the first time. :D

    I also uninstalled the OC kernel first.
     
  8. Amerie

    Amerie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    129
    32
    43
    Doncaster, UK
    Decided to tackle all the updates at once. Installed the webOS update, then downloaded the new ACMEInstaller, Alpha 2.1 and moboot, and proceeded to flash. However, it DIDN'T boot to CM7 after the flash, and just went to webOS. Tried flashing moboot again, still no boot menu. Any ideas what I've done wrong?


    edit: Ah never mind, tried for a third time and it just worked, didn't change a thing. Ah well.
     
  9. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Third time's a charm. :D

    Smart move to update webOS first BTW.
     
  10. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Whats the reasoning for updating webOS? Do you guys ever still use it? Even if you do, wasnt the update just to wipe out the cm7 partition? Is there anything improved in the update?
     
  11. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    webOS update was faster, better browser and everything much faster. Also can filter market apps by touchpad only.

    We're stuck with dual boot for now, might as well keep it updated. It's still fun to see what's new there. :D
     
  12. untitled1

    untitled1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    158
    19
    58
    During the 5-6 weeks when I was using webOS exclusively, I came to like it. If it had all the apps I want, I might not have been inclined to install Android. I'm using Android 90% of the time now, but my girlfriend still likes to play a couple of the webOS games that I installed.

    So I suppose if there are future webOS updates, we'll have to go through this each time?
     
  13. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I think booting into webOS is going to start happening less and less.

    For now it's still a tool to flash CM7, should it become unbootable. Maybe in a few months we won't need it and they'll give us the option of removing it, like they promised. I guess as long as the webOS recovery is available, we can still do some repair.

    The Nook Color is fantastic b/c it boots off the usb port first, which makes it nearly unbrickable. It'd be nice to have that option with the TP.
     
  14. nypaulie

    nypaulie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    11
    1
    36
    That's exactly what I did yesterday and I had no problems. Everything works great. Once I hooked up with their website and did a restore my apps, etc. were all back. How can I tell if the installer is the latest one? I used the same one I used last week to install A1.
     
  15. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I always DL the latest Acme when I DL CM. I only reuse moBoot and gApps. I figure the included instructions might change and I know that Acme did change after my first install of A1.

    Regarding webOS, get this: I simplified the wireless here after getting a new cable gateway (modem, wireless, phone) from Comcast and retired the 6 month old (much better) Cisco router, then updated a lot of stuff on two TP's. After awhile, wireless on the 16 gb quit working (connected but wouldn't work), then my 32 gb. I restored a bunch of stuff, like the Cisco router and recovery backups from 3 days ago and nothing worked until I booted into webOS, connected to the wireless and it worked. Then I booted back into CM7 and my wireless was good again.

    See? WebOS is good for one thing. It has healing powers. :D
     
    untitled1 likes this.
  16. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,533
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,533
    4,047
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    I charged the battery on my TP today, downloaded and installed the WebOS update, placed the TP on the charger for a while to stabilize the OS and to kick the charge back to 100%, and then re-installed CM7. Everything worked great!

    Only problem I've been having with the TP in the last couple of days has been Facebook FC'ing. I'll probably try to re-install that app tomorrow to see if it wants to be more cooperative (it actually doesn't bother me much since I'm used to it FC'ing on my Xoom).
     
  17. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Booting into recovery and fixing permissions/formatting cache might help.
     
  18. Amerie

    Amerie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    129
    32
    43
    Doncaster, UK
    I had the same problem with Facebook, then I read somewhere that it's because of the GPS. I downloaded Fake GPS Location from the market and haven't had a problem since.
     
    Martimus likes this.
  19. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,533
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,533
    4,047
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    Thanks! Interesting idea... Might have to give that a try!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...