1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

So I tried to update my software...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Joehunni, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    After losing root due to F'ed up rom flash, I can still boot into recovery mode (clockworkmod) which is annoying as its like I'm half rooted. So I came across the "one click" hero/evo root method, unrevoked, and that told me I was rooted though I am not. I am kinda ocd and am extremely annoyed by this whole half rooted none of the benefits and all of the shortcomings deal (loss of warranty, back to slow stock 2.1, ect). Thought about taking it to a Sprint store and have them reflash the 2.1 Ruu but was told over the phone that it is impossible to do this. Lastly, I decided it was time to update the software to the dreaded, root-breaker .6 version. So I download the update and go to install it, installation fails and leaves me staring at my clockwork recovery screen, not what I expected. I'm assuming it failed because of my phones unique situation but any advice or insight would be appreciated.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     

    Advertisement

  2. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Come on somebody...

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  3. merciers

    merciers Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I don't know if this helps but I called Sprint customer service a couple weeks ago because most of my calls were going straight to voice mail and my phone was never ringing and the woman on the phone had me input some codes into my phone's keypad to get it to reset itself and reinstall the OS. I don't know if that would fix your problem? You could call and tell them you had the missed call problem and maybe they would help you reset it?

    As I said, I don't know if this helps at all but I felt like I would try to help all that I could.

    Good luck.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Try the RUU again.
     
  5. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Can I rerun the Ruu? My computer us down right now so I brought it to a sprint store and asked them to rerun it and the tech said that its impossible to do if it already has 2.1?

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Yes, you should be able to run it again.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...