• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

So I'm getting an Inspire

Soundteq

May 1, 2012
So I just ordered my ATT upgrade and with with the HTC Inspire. I'm pretty excited about it and I am thinking about rooting it. I've been lurking around these forums and the whole process doesn't seem TOO complicated, but it's still pretty intimidating what with the chance (however small it may be) of breaking your phone. I'm not too tech savvy when it comes to phones, so..

But what I'm here to ask is what custom ROM do you guys would best fit me? Here's the stuff I'm looking to primarily use my phone for and some things that I probably wont mess with.

High priority:

- Gaming. I definitely wanna be able to run my GBA emulator. If possible I'd really like to look into the PSX emulator. I know those can be a bit dodgy but all I plan to play are things like RPGs so a few frame skips or lag won't kill the entire experience, and I'd love to replay some of my PS1 games.

- Web browsing. I'm looking for a ROM that can offer smooth webbrowsing fairly easily. I have a Backflip right now and browsing can be so laggy I just get fed up with it.

- UI. One of the things I look forward to the most is being able to change how my phone looks. I would prefer the sleekest looking reasonably stable ROM.

- Video format support. The more formats supported the better. Do these even change from ROM to ROM though? I've never heard it mentioned.

Medium Priority:

- Battery life. It doesn't have to stay alive for days or anything. Obviously I don't want a ROM that drastically decreases battery lifespan, but if a ROM offers a lifespan similar to the stock ROM that's fine with me.

- Call quality. I heard that a lot of ROMs have a tad bit of static over the calls (this was posted like a year ago, it may be different now). I don't want a ROM with too much noise always goin' on, but I don't mind a little.