1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General So I'm waiting to get my replacement from UPS

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Demache, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    At about 7 PM I will have to drive to the local UPS hub to pick up my replacement Eris from Verizon, since I missed the package at 8 AM because I was sleeping. My old one had the trackball problem where it would keep scrolling left and the left and down directions stopped working.

    Since some people have been getting phones with 2.1 preinstalled with the unrootable HBOOT, I wonder if mine will be like this as well. I liked root, and the ROMs it had. Its not the end of the world if mine does come with 2.1. An exploit might be found someday.

    I'm wondering, if you got a replacement Eris, what version did it come with and when did you get the replacement?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    got my replacement bout 2 weeks before 2.1 "officially" hit the fan.
    came 1.5(obvi.)
     
  3. ttran97

    ttran97 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    572
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    572
    82
    78
    California
    I got my replacement on Saturday at a corporate store. It had 1.5 on it and I rooted it 15 minutes later. :)
     
  4. hookem

    hookem Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    416
    44
    43
    TEXAS - AUSTIN
    Same here. Except I was out of town when it was delivered on Wednesday. Got home late Saturday. Rooted first thing early Sunday morning.:D
     
  5. ttran97

    ttran97 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    572
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    572
    82
    78
    California
    Are your eyes tired yet from reading all the root threads here and over at xda? haha. I'm going blind. I think I'm finally settled on what I want my phone to be like. Running Ivan's Official Eris 1 ROM with Launcherpro, removed Sense, Vanilla lock with non-transparent background! What setup do you have?

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  6. greyhndz

    greyhndz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    119
    12
    58
    New Hampshire
    I received my replacement last Thursday. 2.1 was already installed. And yup, HBOOT 1.49.

    But I wasn't planning on rooting, so it was cool.
     
  7. hookem

    hookem Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    416
    44
    43
    TEXAS - AUSTIN
    They were exhausted.

    Also running Ivan's. Lovin' wifi tether.

    Gonna get rid of Sense too.
     
  8. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Okay I did get my replacement and it did come with the 1.49 hboot. A little disappointing, but not the end of the world. The phone seems a lot snappier though. Maybe its just placebo, but it definately seems to be running stock Sense a lot better than the old one.

    And I don't have to push in to use the trackball anymore. I had no idea it was supposed to be like that. Maybe it wont break this time.
     
  9. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    Enjoy your new phone buddy, although the hboot=1.49 is a bit disappointing.
     
  10. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    My wife got her replacement on Friday 6/4/10 and it came with 2.1 hboot 1.49. I was really disappointed because I was looking forward to rooting, not that she cares. But I was hoping to at least get it overclocked to get her better performance but the way she uses the phone it's probably not needed.
     
  11. DroidJW

    DroidJW Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    really diggin that look.

    That lockscreen looks like stock Android. With Sense gone, is Ivan's like stock android? Is wifi tether included?

    nice stuff
     
  12. ttran97

    ttran97 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    572
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    572
    82
    78
    California
    Thanks! The lockscreen is stock android. I had to run the batch file found in this thread to get it so the background wouldn't be transparent. It's really ugly when you see two clocks overlayed on top of each other. Transparency wouldn't be so bad if the lockscreen didn't have a clock.

    When I removed Sense via the sticky in the Root forum, it only stopped the launcher from loading up. This frees up memory and presumably helps with battery life too. But Ivan's rom acts more like Sense than stock Home...which is what I wanted. I can't use the HTC widgets when I'm using Launcherpro, but the dialer, contacts, calendar, stocks, etc are all like regular Sense, except Ivan optimized the graphics for faster performance.

    And yes, wifi tethering and overclock are included. Let me tell you something...wifi tethering is AWESOME. It's like having one of those mifi router things that Verizon sells. Imagine going on long road trips and being able to surf on your laptop inside the car...without wires! I move around a lot for school, too...and now I never have to wonder if my next apartment will have internet or worry about setting up cable service, etc.. Sure, it drains the battery, but I can just leave my phone plugged in and set it on my table.
     
    Dadmech likes this.
  13. namu1107

    namu1107 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    153
    6
    36
    Clinical Lab Scientist
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    What's the difference between tethering with PDAnet and with ROOT?
     
  14. JAS_21

    JAS_21 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    116
    7
    36
    Sales Manager
    Orlando, FL
    My refurb is coming thursday. I'm hoping for 1.47 bootloader. But if not, hopefully my silent calls and dialer lag will no longer be an issue. I love the "smart", but it would be nice if the "phone" worked too!!
     
  15. Dabluest

    Dabluest Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    33
    5
    16
    One is free and one is not.;)
     
  16. hookem

    hookem Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    416
    44
    43
    TEXAS - AUSTIN
    With root, you get WiFi tethering! Your phone becomes a HotSpot, emitting a wifi signal for other devices.
     
  17. namu1107

    namu1107 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    153
    6
    36
    Clinical Lab Scientist
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    BUT, the question now is, will verizon be able to track that you are tethering when using root?
     
  18. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    Not over wifi. You're not using their network.
     
  19. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    Yeah...the rooted wifi tethering sends out a wifi signal, like a router, but it still uses Verizon's connection to the tower as the WAN.
     
  20. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    even if your connected to wifi yourself? with mobile networks turned off? I never used it, because my computer at home was already connected to wifi so I never needed it.
     
  21. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    Well, I'm not sure if it will work off of a wifi connection or not. For the same reason that you've never used it, I don't either. I mean, in that sense anyway. If I have a wifi connection, then I can connect my pc and phone to that wifi connection and don't need wifi tethering. Wifi tethering is pretty much only needed when you are away from a conventional internet connection.
     

Share This Page

Loading...