1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support So is this problem a Moment thing or a Windows thing?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chicago77, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. Chicago77

    Chicago77 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    I've powered off and pulled the battery. I've also deleted any Samsung drivers on my computer. If this problem requires a "hard reset" I'll wait til 2.1 because that (most likely) wipes all data which is what a hard reset will do anyway, yes?

    So...I'm caught in some weird USB connect boot loop.

    I've got debugging off, I plug USB from computer to phone, I get "USB connected" in notification bar...OK everything seems cool, right? I use pull down menu to connect, get the "select mount" screen, I press mount then I get "turn off USB card'' and then "preparing USB card" both in quick succession in the notification bar and then I'm back to"USB connected" again....over and over and over again.



    I'm using Windows 7 64 bit and if I open up Control Panel>Hardware and Sound>Devices and printers, I can see that the computer sees something and is calling it SAMSUNG_Android and if I right click that icon to browse files, it comes up as Removable Disk (I) and it's grayed out and I can't get in. If I take the SD card out of the phone and plug it into the computer via microSD adapter, it reads it just fine.

    Anybody have some advice on this one?
     

    Advertisement

  2. chibucks

    chibucks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    412
    48
    43
    sounds like it's recognizing and then not recognizing... have you tried a different USB port? different computer? is USB debugging off (under applications)? sorry i'm not more help.
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  3. Chicago77

    Chicago77 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Tried all available USB ports and when taking the phone into Sprint for the update it connected perfectly with no problems. The wife has a Mac in the house, maybe I'll check debugging and see if it gets recognized on her machine. While that won't help me transfer files that are located on my box, at least I can narrow down the problem to possibly being a Windows device recognition thing.

    Anybody else have suggestions?
     
  4. cosine83

    cosine83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    162
    22
    58
    Systems Technician
    Henderson, NV
    I ran into this problem a couple times. Uninstall the drivers, restart, and reinstall the drivers.
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  5. Chicago77

    Chicago77 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Once uninstalled, plugging the phone back into the computer via USB after a soft reset (turn off power/turn back on) automatically reinstalls drivers, no?

    That's where I'm stumped. One would think starting the process from scratch wouldn't yield the same unwanted results (IE- the computer sees the device but won't allow me to explore/add/delete files)

    Thanks for the help so far, guys...anybody else wanna take a stab at this?
     
  6. zcarman

    zcarman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    342
    46
    43
    IT Support, Testing, Product Development
    Everett, WA
    I'm still running Vista here, but I had the same problem where I had to go to device manager and uninstall the 'errored' device and then the drivers and then reboot and reinstall... Sounds like you hit all that above, except for removing the 'errored device'... Does 7 have a Device Manager?
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  7. Chicago77

    Chicago77 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    The problem is the device isn't being flagged with an error message. It's right there, I can see it but when I go to explore, add or delete files it won't allow me access; it's just "grayed out" and I can't even see the contents of the sd card.

    If I right click properties it can give me driver specs (which don;t mention Samsung, only Windows) and it will say that the "device is working properly".

    This is getting pretty frustrating. I think this has to do with some Windows Admin settings that I'm not well versed in enough to figure out (yet!).
     
  8. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    I had this problem too. It has not come back since I decided to unplug my external HD every time before plugging in the Moment. I am also running Win 7 64bit.
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  9. zcarman

    zcarman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    342
    46
    43
    IT Support, Testing, Product Development
    Everett, WA
    Any chance it's trying to assign the same drive letter? That would be strangely weird, but hey, it's still Windows... :)

    and @Chicago77... Try removing the device completely and reisntalling. If you get it out of Windows completely it should give you a fresh install and let you try to 'remount' the device. Is the mounting notification coming up on the phone itself when you plug in?
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  10. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    No, the external drive was F:, tried to make the Moment G: and it wouldn't work. Worked fine when it assigned F to the Moment though. I guess I could try plugging in the hard drive and manually switching to Z: or something, then trying the Moment.
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  11. zcarman

    zcarman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    342
    46
    43
    IT Support, Testing, Product Development
    Everett, WA
    @AnthroMatt That is really weird - I'll try to dupe that in Vista. I've got mine tied with network drives, external drives, and except for the install issue, it seems to be fine now... ?
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  12. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    Changing the drive letter on the external HD didn't help. Must be a resource issue or something.
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  13. cosine83

    cosine83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    162
    22
    58
    Systems Technician
    Henderson, NV
    Try manually updating the drivers from the device manager.
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  14. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    I have no real idea how to do that since the device doesn't stay connected for more than a second or two. I will play with it more when I get home from work.
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  15. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    I was having trouble with mine for a while. I eventually discovered that my problem was being caused by my USB cable. I know it shouldn't matter as long as you are using a compatible micro USB, but in my case it did. So try using a different cable. I suspect that this solution would work because it would also explain why Sprint had no trouble.
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  16. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    I am using the cable that came with the phone....
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  17. Chicago77

    Chicago77 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    I've uninstalled all drivers and deleted the drive in the device manager which assigned it to drive (I)...there is nothing remotely resembling something from Samsung on my box now...soft reset. plugged in USB from computer to phone (cable works because it's shows it is charging) and I am getting the same results....damn.

    I am getting the mount prompt pop-up screen on the phone and when I press that, up top in the notification bar I get the "turn off USB card'' and then "preparing USB card" both in quick succession in the notification bar and then I'm back to"USB connected" again".



     
  18. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    I was able to charge and do everything except connect. Again, you should try swapping out the cable.
     
    Chicago77 likes this.
  19. Chicago77

    Chicago77 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    22
    0
    15
  20. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    I don't believe it is the cable. I have zero issues getting the phone (and cable) to connect as a mass storage device on my computer at work (XP).
     
  21. OBNUG Intern

    OBNUG Intern Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    It sounds like a problem that I was having trying to install PDANet. It was a problem with the compatibilty mode with the installer for Windows 7.


    Try this:

    Download the drivers.
    Extract the files.
    Right click on the "Setup" file and select "Properties".
    Click the "Compatibility" Tab.
    (If the "Compatibility Mode" section is grayed out, click the "Change Settings for all users" button at the bottom of the menu.)
    In the drop down menu select "Windows Vista (Service Pack 2)"
    Click "Ok" on both menu screens.
    Double click on "Setup".
    Viola!

    That fixed my driver problems. Hopefully it works for you.
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...