1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root So much information - opinions appreciated!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DCC, Apr 29, 2012.

1. DCC

DCC Lurker
    None

Jul 26, 2010
    Hi all,

First off, massive thanks to all those that have compiled the rooting guides - really helpful!

Where I'm at: I have a desire, which was rolling on stock 2.2. Now i have rooted with the unrevoked method, got me a goldcard, partitioned a class 6 sd card with a 1gig of ext 3.

So i think i've basically done everything except load a new ROM.

This is now where i'm falling down! there is so much choice and info! I'm not a complete tech ****, but i'm pretty new to tinkering with android.

So really, what i wanted was some opinions on the best rom for me! I've got some months left on my contract and the lack of internal memory has really begun to ruin my desire love affair! so A2SD is the biggest driver here. Equally i would really to play with the way it looks, and i think i'm ready for a Sense-less life!

I've been reading about SURoot's rom, which i understand is rocking some ICS. which sounds like a lot of fun! but it also seems to not be running A2sd? also i wasn't sure if i would have to root my phone with a different method to get it to work? In other words, given that for all intents and purpose i'm a massive noob, is dGB too advanced for me!?

If so, can someone recommend a good starting rom, that will solve my internal memory woes for now?!

Thanks for reading - look forward to your sage advice!

Advertisement

2. SUroot

SUroot Android Expert
    None

May 25, 2010
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    dGB is GB not ics. It doesn't use sd-ext for a2sd+ it uses a custom hboot which needs to be fastboot flashed (see adb and fastboot faq* - adb not relevant today though) but not.until you have s-off'd your phone (see revolutionary faq*)