1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root So sorry to post this, but so confused...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Taem, Sep 13, 2011.

1. Taem

Taem Newbie
    None

Sep 9, 2011
    I'm wanting to "root" my Droid X for several reasons, however I simply don't understand any of the posted "guides". Newbie's Guide with Videos says something about Froyo and Gingerbread and version numbers... What the heck does any of that mean? How do I know what my phone has, if it has any of those at all? I'm a super phone rooting noob and none of these guides for noobs even make any sense to me! The ***Motorola Droid X Rooting Guide*** is even more confusing... does it actually say how to root a droid, or does it just have a ton of links? There's too much information in that thread and it's really not very understandable too me. I thought I read on another site that all I had to do was click a program that says "ROOT" and it was that simple?!?

Will my old data be saved or erased? If I flash a new ROM, will my old date be saved or erased? Anyways, here's what I want to root my phone for, so maybe I could get some suggestions:

1) Get rid of stock programs I don't want (i.e. Skype, Social Networking, Madden Football)
    2) Change which programs start at bootup
    3) I would like a program to end when I end it and not stay in RAM eating up my memory and CPU ~ manually having to shutdown every app and service on each reboot AND every time I use it is ridiculous
    4) On that note, it would be nice if only texting, voicemail, and gmail checked for updates (i.e. texts, email, or voicemail) constantly, and other programs didn't check for updates at all except when you clicked on them to use them. And actual app updates only get checked when you click on the Marketplace. Is that possible?

I'm open to suggestions/help. Thanks.

Advertisement

2. Steven58

Steven58 Reformed PH

Feb 19, 2010
    Male