1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root So, ugh... do I need to return to stock?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ajdroidx, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. ajdroidx

    ajdroidx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,816
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    2,816
    993
    233
    Male
    Colorado
    I am now running black ice rom on my Xoom (4g version) and see now ICS update has been pushed. Now, in order to get the update, I guess I got a couple options:

    1) return to stock and wait for the OTA to be pushed
    2) sit back even longer and wait for other ICS roms

    I assume a full ICS image for the 4g xoom has NOT been posted yet, or has it? I have no clue where to look. I have been out of the Xoom development loop for a while now
     

    Advertisement

  2. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL

    There is no image yet but I went back from black ice to update for the soak test and as soon as it was over rooted and restored back ice. Stock ics was good but black ice was better. The only reason that you should go back is if you want to, you really are not missing anything.
     
  3. ajdroidx

    ajdroidx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,816
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    2,816
    993
    233
    Male
    Colorado
    Black ice seems to be unstable for me. Random crashes here and there (like honeycomb). I have been seriously thinking about going back to stock for a while now because I am getting tired of messing with it. It has almost come to the point that having a rooted xoom is moot.

    I hope google releases an image soon.
     
  4. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL

    If you have your Xoom overclocked slow it down and that might stop the crashes
     
  5. ajdroidx

    ajdroidx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,816
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    2,816
    993
    233
    Male
    Colorado
    Its not over clocked.

    It would not even connect to 4g today even after I toggled the CDMA settings.
     
  6. Paul1201

    Paul1201 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Try Bugless Beast. Pete has updated to the latest OTA and will be posting the updated base and soon. This ROM has been perfect for me. Only thing I can't get to work is movies from Google Movies. I have tried every trick I can find and still get the cannot play on rooted devices error.

    ROM - Downloads
     
  7. ajdroidx

    ajdroidx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,816
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    2,816
    993
    233
    Male
    Colorado
    I ended up shoving EOS 2.0.0 on the thing. Seems to be working pretty good. :)
     
  8. pcgamer

    pcgamer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    613
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    613
    45
    68
    Male
    School full-time (high school)
    Dallas, TX

Share This Page

Loading...