1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root So what Rom you guys running?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chaos67731, Nov 6, 2011.

  1. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    My ex-girlfriend has this Ascend, and I messed up a long time ago by rooting it and putting a custom ROM on there, dont get me wrong I LOVE flashing ROMs to my Evo but every time her fun acts up a little I get a phone call. lol

    So just taking votes on a fast (as can be) rom.
    Does not need to be up to date
    Does not need lots of cool stuff.


    Just needs to work, ;)
     

    Advertisement

  2. lriv

    lriv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    160
    42
    43
    Hempville, USA
    I'm running an older CM7 ROM and it rocks for me... Runs better than any of the newer ones for me. Everything works, except for Camera apps (but they do not work on any CM7 ROMS)
    This ROM is running Android 2.3.4
    CM7 Ascend 05142011
    Code (Text):
    1. http://www.mediafire.com/?dyr5zlxh2ehlod8
     
  3. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    cm7 05212011 is good also, and cm6 which is 2.2 and no flaws.;)
     
  4. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    I was/have CM7 0912
     
  5. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    I had a ROM on there about a year ago and she loved it, I forget if it is cm6 or icarusmod. . Bit I think it was icarusmod.

    But when I go to flash it I am getting an error and seems I may have to down grade my CWM?
     
  6. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    if it was that long ago, than 9 out of 10 you put icarus on there, but i recommend installing cwm recover 3.0.2.8 and install either cm6 or cm7. ;)
     
  7. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    Rite now it does have CM7 (2.3.4) on it and it seems to run out of space fast and go a little slow.

    I really dont know if its the phone or she is nuts.
     
  8. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    she needs to partition her sd card and flash dta2sd and also she can move the dalvik to sd card, but if you flash the latest cm7, a2sd is built inside the rom, but the sd card will need to be partition for it to work, i had over 60 apps on my ascend and still had 153mb free of 167.
     
    chaos67731 likes this.
  9. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    I have never flashed dta2sd or partitioned the sd card.

    I did just install "Issac's Last Build (05212011): CM7-Ascend-05212011-signed.zip"

    After a clean install she has like 81mb free. is that normal?
     
  10. lriv

    lriv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    160
    42
    43
    Hempville, USA
    sounds about right...

    I have 92 non stock rom apps installed. 127MB used and 40MB free. Most app data moved to SDcard with a2sd...

    I'm Oc'd @710mhz. Dalvik is NOT moved to SD card.

    Works super sweet and fast.... I do on a VERY RARE occasion get a stutter or hiccup, but I'm sure it happens to everyone...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    chaos67731 likes this.
  11. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    105
    1
    36
    Tech
    Las Vegas
    Is "dta2sd" different from a2sd? and what is the best way to get this done?
     
  12. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Yeah its different. It tricks all the apps even ones that normally wont move into thinking they are on the phone annd not the sd card.

    Here dtapps2sd-2.7.5.2-1-signed.zip

    Install some apps before flashing it, but just put it on the root of your sd reboot into recovery and flash it. No need to wipe anything. (Before you partition your sd card back it!!! Partition it will erase everything on it)

    I personally partition the sd card, put everything back on it, then flash cm7 and the gapps, reboot then add apps and then flash dta2sd so everything is fresh.

    After youre done see how much space you have, if you still dont have a lot left, download this, (its a good idea to have this anyways) and go to the dalvik section and move it to the sd card.

    https://market.android.com/details?...251bGwsMSwxLDEsImNvbS5lbGd1YmJvLmEyc2RHVUkiXQ..
     
    chaos67731 likes this.
  13. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    make sure before flashing dta2sd boot into recover and format sd card than partition it with 256 or 512 and swap is 32. But backup your sd card to the computer before formatting it. ;)
     
    jabe00 and chaos67731 like this.
  14. jabe00

    jabe00 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    nutmeg or someone, can tell me what is the correct order on clean install for use from SD-Ext?

    for example in my case i'll install last Issac built 0521..

    I think maybe is the correct order:

    1. Process Before Install Any Room (Dalvin, Format, etc)
    2. Install Built
    3. Install Gapps
    4. Create SD-Ext >> 512 with swap 32
    5. Boot
    6. Install some apps
    7. Go to Recovery
    8. Install dtapps2sd-2.7.5.2-1-signed.zip
    9. Boot
    10. Install A2SDGUI
    11. Configure >>

    What is the best configuration for A2SDGUI that you or somepne can recomend?

    Thanks
    Jabe
     
  15. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    looks good to me but you dont have to install Install A2SDGUI if you dont want to, but you can use Terminal Emu to move all apps and dalvik to sd card, but remember if you move dalvik make sure you have a class 4 but class 10 is recommended for a better and faster phone. ;)
     
  16. jabe00

    jabe00 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    7
    1
    6
    In my case is better use the A2SDGUI because i dont know how to do with the Terminal Emu...

    I need to know you or someone can explain what is the best setting using A2SDGUI

    I put this setting in my clean install from A2SDGUI :

    Apps2SD
    - Apps are on SD
    - Zipaling on boot is on
    - Swat is activated
    - 30 > Set swappeiness to his value (0-100)

    Dalvik
    - Dalvin cache on SD-EXT

    Low Memory
    - Agressive low memory settings

    Sistem Information
    - Internal Memory > 162 Free 189 Total
    - SD-EXT > 359 Free 457 Total
    - Cache > 66 Free 70 Total
    - Ram > 63 Free 183 Total
    - Swap > 55 Free 63 Total
    - Total > 118 Free 246 Total
     
  17. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Yeah thats good dude. I dont remember what I have my low memory on but everything else is the same as I have except I boosted my swappiness up to 50. Didnt see no real difference in it tho.
     
  18. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    yes all looks good to me.
     
  19. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Just as ShinySide & Nuttmeg stated, this set-up is good.
    If you want to tweak things a bit more,try running V-6 SUPERCHARGER by ZEPPELINROX.

    ShinySide & SCUR figured out what settings work best w/this script for our particular phone & posted a thread on the step & step instructions for using this script.
    This script ranks right up there w/CM7 & DT's A2SD as to the vast improvement it gives over a stock ASCEND.
    See the sticky HANDY ASCEND DOWNLOAD LINKS for the script & tutorial thread.
     
    nuttmeg likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...