1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root So when are we getting root for this one :) ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ranshe, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. ranshe

    ranshe Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    So the Vitality / R720 is officially out there - any rooting options so far?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,910
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,910
    3,191
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Check out the Samsung Admire forum. I cant promise it will work, but it's the same phone minus Muve and they have root already.
     
    ranshe likes this.
  3. ranshe

    ranshe Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    At first I thought it was working, but Shark is still not running, su gives me "permission denied", etc., so no go.
    Perhaps it's the different SD card partitioning issue?
     
  4. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    or a different mount for system. does this phone have touchwiz or is it stock android? whats the errors when it runs?
     
  5. ranshe

    ranshe Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    How do I check for mountpoints?
    I don't believe this is stock Android.

    Here's the output when running this:
    "starting adb in wait-for-device"
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    "
    [*] Triggering core dump..."
    [1] Segmentation fault app_process /dev...
    "
    [*] Rebooting phone. It may buzz a lot and loop on boot. Don't panic."
    remount succeeded
    137 KB/s (26264 bytes in 0.187s)
    link failed File exists [note: this is the 3rd time I'm running the script]
    "
    [*] Installing Superuser.apk. If this hangs, just cancel it with Ctrl+C after a few seconds,"
    "
    [*] and you'll be finished rooting your phone. Reboot and enjoy."
    1010 KB/s (196521 bytes in 0.190s)
    Error: Could not access the Package Manager. Is the system running?
    "
    [*] Persistence complete, enjoy your rooted phone!"
    Press any key to exit the script.
    Press any key to continue . . .
     
  6. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    oh well snap install superuser from teh market you should be rooted :)
     
    ranshe likes this.
  7. ranshe

    ranshe Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    Thank you sir, I'm a happy root now!
     
  8. LG-optimus-C

    LG-optimus-C Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    His did you get it rooted ?
     
  9. greasemonky

    greasemonky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    136
    15
    48
    Male
    Alvarado, TX
    Ive tried that out for rooting my cricket vitality and it doesnt work. I installed superuser from the market and installed busybox cause a root app requested me to install and even thou it did ask for superuser permission it still didnt work. If anyone know any other way to root this device, please let me know. I know there isnt any roms out for this yet but hopefully soon there will be.
     
  10. LG-optimus-C

    LG-optimus-C Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    30
    0
    15
    Actually it does I got mine rooted using it
     
  11. greasemonky

    greasemonky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    136
    15
    48
    Male
    Alvarado, TX
    Sorry I havent been able to post back. Apparently Im a idiot lol. It did work the only problem I had was that I downloaded busybox but I didnt install it. Thats why it wasnt working for me. Wireless wifi tether isnt working thou and I cant overclock it but Im happy I got the root at least...now to delete all those useless stock apps lol
     
  12. bmeeks24

    bmeeks24 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011

    Dec 7, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I have never rooted anything - so this will be my first. 2 questions...

    1. is it worth the effort - I really would like to squeeze a bit more oomph out of this phone

    2. is it hard to brick the phone? Don't wanna screw it up...
     
  13. greasemonky

    greasemonky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    136
    15
    48
    Male
    Alvarado, TX

    It is definitely worth the effort. When I first started rooting it was with the g1. Ever since then Ive been doing it with every android I have ever owned.

    BTW, idk if your the same person but if you are, hope you get other peoples opinions too also. Dont know if your the same person on facebook earlier today....Im Jose
     
  14. bmeeks24

    bmeeks24 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011

    Dec 7, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Jose, I'm the same guy. Thanks for the info. I did the deed and the root worked out greo
     
  15. therockof2004

    therockof2004 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Hodgenville,KY
    i was able to root my phone a week ago but had problems with 3g has anyone had problems with this or was it just a fluke or maybe problems with the towers idk i did a data reset and the phone is unrooted would like to root it agin but dont want to have no 3g i us the muve music alot and it only works on 3g any help would be great thx:)
     
  16. android4ever91

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    21
    0
    15
    Louisville
    can someone please send me a nandroid backup for the vitality i bricked my phone and cant get it to boot up it would be greatly appreciated i have the cwm recovery and i had a backup but it corrupted please help!!!!
     
  17. MeMe1

    MeMe1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Here's a link to root your phone for those still looking:

    jailbreakandroid.org/root-samsung-admire-samsung-vitality-samsung-sch-r720-samsung-indulge-they-easy-way.html#comment-1144
     
  18. therockof2004

    therockof2004 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Hodgenville,KY
    how can i make one maybe i could make you one and post it for you
     
  19. android4ever91

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    21
    0
    15
    Louisville
    Do you have the cwm recovery ?
     
  20. therockof2004

    therockof2004 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Hodgenville,KY
    no but is there a nother way to make one with out cwm
     
  21. android4ever91

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    21
    0
    15
    Louisville
    No in order to make a nandroid backup you have to have the recovery menu and be rooted so unless you do that then I'm screwed =\
     
  22. therockof2004

    therockof2004 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Hodgenville,KY
    im so sorry i want to help you so bad but im not sure if i root will i lose my muve music and i had problems with 3g if someone can conferm that all works with i will root and gladly make a back up for you
     
  23. android4ever91

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    21
    0
    15
    Louisville
    I rooted and installed the recovery they day they were both available to everyone and still used my muve music and I never had any 3g problems either
     
  24. therockof2004

    therockof2004 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    Hodgenville,KY
    ok ill do it to help you out worse thing to happen is i have to data reset my phone plus i have best buy black tie so if its bricked thell replace it my email is therockof2004@gmail.com in case you need it ill report when im done
     
  25. regxicide

    regxicide Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012

    Jan 18, 2012
    21
    2
    16
    if ur bricked? not sure what that means never happened to me but if ur still able to boot into cwm install the drivers go to the admire forums and get a rom from there in cwm go to the mounts and storage options i think its called and mount usb storage it works as long as u have the drivers youl be able to find the drivers in the how to root section in the admire forums.
     

Share This Page

Loading...