1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support social location app wont shut off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by da2k17, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. da2k17

    da2k17 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    NEPA
    I cant get the social location app to shut down. Its using as much batter as the android os which is giving me terrible battery life. My phone isnt rooted. Anyone else with this issue? Any way to fix it? I tried task management app i forget the name but it wasnt able to do anything and the stock task manager cant either.
     

    Advertisement

  2. AeroEngi

    AeroEngi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    71
    6
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    Something I did that helped is I went into Social Location's settings and turned off the app. After that, I restarted the phone and it's been ok ever since.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. Chi-TownTx

    Chi-TownTx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    180
    41
    43
    This is one of the main reasons i rooted my phone lol. Froze that biznitch, problem solved. ;)
     
    stpbby and Rico ANDROID like this.
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,899
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,899
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    This is a duplicate of the same question you asked in the Bionic thread at ... http://androidforums.com/motorola-d...turn-off-sucking-battery-dry.html#post3606624 ... what DEVICE are you running this on?

    ... Thom
     
  5. da2k17

    da2k17 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    NEPA
    Wheni open the app the only option i can find is off i click it but nothing happens. Tired shutting the phone down after but it didnt do anything.

    Its on the razr i didnt realize when i googled it that it took me to the wrong subsection until after i posted. My mistake.
     
  6. stpbby

    stpbby Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    53
    4
    16
    I/T Ninja
    Oklahoma
    Root, then freeze the app. Problem solved.
     
  7. stpbby

    stpbby Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    53
    4
    16
    I/T Ninja
    Oklahoma
    Time to change my Sig.. waaay out of date.
     
  8. da2k17

    da2k17 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    NEPA
    I dont know enoigh about this stuff to be comfortable rooting it. This is my first smartphone.
     
  9. da2k17

    da2k17 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    NEPA
    Noticed my battery was better today checked and the social location app wasnt running... dont know how or why it finally shut off 6 days later but its definitely making a noticeable difference not running. As a reference yesterday i came off full charge at 7 and by 2 was at 20ish %. Wifi off whole time browsed the web for an hour and a half with 3/4g and texted for about an hour.

    Today i spent maybe 3 hours browsing with wifi and 4g on and only at 80% over roughly 7 hours again. My only fear is that dumb app coming back on otherwise i love this phone.
     
  10. stpbby

    stpbby Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    53
    4
    16
    I/T Ninja
    Oklahoma
    I also read in another post that going into the app and disabling it will stop it from running. I didn't try that myself.

    Install Watchdog too see whats really running and taking up your CPU cycles.

    *** your getting hella good battery life ***
     
  11. stpbby

    stpbby Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    53
    4
    16
    I/T Ninja
    Oklahoma

    On Android based phones I consider rooting essential. you get to run apps like Titanium backup, You can Freeze bloatware that the carriers put on your phone... These bloatware apps run in the background and eat up alot of CPU cycles, such as the social location app.

    The most important thing to remember is; if you dont exactly know what your doing, read the forums and follow what others are doing. There is a great thread on what apps you can freeze and CANNOT freeze in the Bionic forum, these apps also apply to the RAZR

    If your worried about it, go through the everything root thread and read up on it. Also check out the 'Everything Root' thread on the Droid Bionic, basically the same.
     
  12. gallandof

    gallandof Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010


    while I agree with you that rooting is a huge benefit of android. I personally do not recomend rooting the razr currently. especially for a new root user. with out any true backup or recovery option, the potential to brick the device is much much higher than normal. Once we do have a true recovery and restoration method I 100% agree that rooting is one of the most beneficial things you can do to your device.
     
  13. da2k17

    da2k17 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    NEPA
    I have to find some time and go through the info i really dont understand what rooting really means or does yet.
     
  14. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    It means geting administrator access to the phone - in simple terms.
     
  15. Chi-TownTx

    Chi-TownTx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    180
    41
    43
  16. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,899
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,899
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Did this occur only during the period when the network was down nationwide?

    My assumption is that it was the application going out from the background constantly trying to connect and constantly being rejected.

    There is an option on the Bionic to only sync on a Wifi connection. Does the Razr version have the same option? On the Bionic it is at ...
    Settings | Battery & data manager | Data delivery | Social applications
    Check Sync over WiFi only

    There is another option to limit the frequency that it attempts to sync.

    Do they exist on the Razr? Do they help?

    ... Thom
     
  17. da2k17

    da2k17 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    NEPA
    Thom, it was from last saturdat when i bought the phone until yesterday. It was about the same time i got much better 4g. Reception when soc. Location shut off, possible coincidence

    . The menu isnt the same but i saw sync options somewhere just not sure where. I dont want to play too much with it now, it shut off on its own i dont want to accidentally start it up again. There has been a significant difference in my battery life with it not running.
     
  18. da2k17

    da2k17 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    NEPA
    Thanks for all the info everyone
     
  19. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,899
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,899
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Understood.

    It is probably in Settings | Battery ...

    I believe it got called in the background by other Apps (like Face book) and is one of the worst (if not the worst) users of GPS.

    I don't use any of them and it does not appear. I loaded Face book for the first time in a month and saw the GPS logo in the notification bar crank away for about a minute.

    The Battery report reported a quasi-false horrendous use of the Battery by the locater App. It continued to report it until I put the Bionic on a charger and this reset the statistics.

    If you recharged the Razr it could be the same sort of "odd data reporting" issue and might account for your current perceived state.

    ... Thom
     
  20. stpbby

    stpbby Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    53
    4
    16
    I/T Ninja
    Oklahoma
    Sync social apps over wifi only is under - settings -> data manager. On the razr
     
  21. stpbby

    stpbby Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    53
    4
    16
    I/T Ninja
    Oklahoma
    I wonder of rebooting your phone after changing the setting in the social app made it stop
     
  22. millennium23

    millennium23 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    6
    1
    26
    I disable background data on Data manager and it synchronize when i open the social application it will save you battery life
     
    Szadzik likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...