1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Soft & hard reboots on X fixes bugs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by albiewan, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. albiewan

    albiewan Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    366
    33
    43
    Male
    Grand Poobah
    Long Beach CA
    I've posted this before but it has been working for my X. Minor lags, app downloads, etc appear to go away with each soft reboot (I've only done 4 since Friday) and 2 hard reboots have got my X running a lot better since I got it. I don't mind rebooting since it has obvious (to me ) results. I suppose the imminent update will fix some of these as well.
     

    Advertisement

  2. kav92

    kav92 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Hard reset has also worked for me.
     
  3. bbuck002

    bbuck002 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    622
    60
    78
    Research Tech
    Buffalo
    is there a way to hard reset without pulling the battery? sorry coming from a crapberry
     
  4. albiewan

    albiewan Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    366
    33
    43
    Male
    Grand Poobah
    Long Beach CA
    Just use that little tab to pull out the battery, pretty simple.
     
  5. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    Edit: You can do a factory reset by holding home and power when the phone is off.
     
  6. dbvirago

    dbvirago Member
    Rank:
     #1,192
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    69
    3
    16
    As a former Palm user, hard reset has bad memories. Do you lose anything with hard reset on the X?
     
  7. albiewan

    albiewan Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    366
    33
    43
    Male
    Grand Poobah
    Long Beach CA
    No losses that I can see, only gains i.e, faster, smoother running X...remember, I'm not talking about a factory reset, just rebooting.
     
  8. svensett

    svensett Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    439
    58
    53
    Central Illinois
    So is a soft reboot simply powering down, or is it something different? Is a hard reset the same as a factory reset? Just trying to learn the lingo...
     
  9. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    What little tab? I tried looking for something to pull the battery out last night and there was nothing there. I bet my wife tore it off or something when she charged it for me when it was delivered. :(
     
  10. Helicrewchief

    Helicrewchief Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    191
    31
    43
    Blackhawk Crewchief
    North Carolina
    In her defense the tab does say "PULL"

    OP can you explain exactly what a hard and soft reset is. The X seems to be the first smartphone for most. I know myself I am coming from Blackberry and this is a whole new world.
     
  11. 2horses

    2horses Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    583
    47
    68
    New Braunfels, TX
    Found this explanation on another thread:
     
  12. Mr_Alexander

    Mr_Alexander Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    5
    0
    25
    Tampa, FL
    I come from using windows mobile where the term Hard Reset=Factory Reset and Soft Reset=Turning phone Off/On. Pulling the battery was called just that. I find that I'm missing the little soft-reset button I'm so used to.
     
  13. JRunSW20

    JRunSW20 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    56
    18
    18
    I've been a VZW rep for 3 years now, and what we go by is... Soft reset: pulling your battery out, wait a few seconds, put it back in. Master reset/Hard reset: fully wiping out the phone and putting it back in its factory state. Turning off the phone and turning it back on is just restarting the phone. There are some apps that simple act as a soft reset and restart the phone without doing the battery pull (I had this on my WinMo phone). But I haven't checked if there was one made for Android OS
     
  14. kdkinc

    kdkinc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    118
    21
    38
    Inverness.Florida
    Originally Posted by tkc122 [​IMG]
    1. Turn the phone off.
    2. Hold the Power and Home buttons down for about 5 seconds.
    3. A screen with an exclamation will appear. Tap the Search key.
    4. Confirm the selection.
    5. Select Yes
     
  15. kramerica

    kramerica Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    357
    60
    73
    West Michigan
    Blackberry had a "soft reset" application as it was somewhat of a necessity for BB users that used a case called Quickpull. I haven't found anything like it on the market yet, but am suprised someone hasn't come up with something like it to date. Saves case wear and tear.
     
  16. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    they do, but it requires root and its called reboot control widget
     
    kramerica likes this.
  17. Necronius

    Necronius Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    10
    1
    16
    Operations Lead
    Speers, PA
    When you're yanking your battery, are you shutting down first, or just yanking it while booted? just curious.
     
  18. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Quick Boot in the market. Awesome...

    Edit: requires root
     
  19. edgeman4

    edgeman4 Member
    Rank:
     #699
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    64
    4
    36
    Soft reset is a reboot (lose nothing), hard reset is a factory reset (lose everything). Should be no changes to this whether you are on Winmo or Android (I've had both). These things should always mean the same thing.
     
  20. JemmyDucks

    JemmyDucks Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    62
    31
    43
    I also came close to yanking that little tab when I unpacked the phone. Then a little voice said, "Don't you think you ought to read the instructions first?"
     
  21. kramerica

    kramerica Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    357
    60
    73
    West Michigan
    This is a free app and works quite nicely. You can set a weekly schedule or click the widget to automatically go in to reboot mode without having the application open, then choose reboot.

    ROOT REQUIRED - which couldn't be any simpler with Easy Root.
     
  22. JJWSTAR

    JJWSTAR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    63
    0
    15
    so when you guys do a hard or soft reset...are the aps & contact still there after its back on?
     

Share This Page

Loading...