1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Soft Key Lights Turning Themselves Off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BLACKTOOTHGRIN, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. BLACKTOOTHGRIN

    BLACKTOOTHGRIN Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    297
    22
    38
    Professional Pain In The A$$
    South of Heavan
    I'm having some issues with my Commando's Soft Key Lights.
    Some times they shut off for no apparent reason and won't come on unless I do a reboot, or go into the settings and hit the brightness bar.
    Obviously this isn't normal,
    but I'm wondering if anyone else has had this happen?
    Any suggestions on how to fix it?

    Also,
    there was 1 instance were the red charging LED didn't activate
    and the screen kept blinking back and forth from the charging screen
    to the Gzone boot screen.
    Only happened once, but I've only had the damn thing for 3 days.
    (never dropped, never in water, not rooted, only a half a dozen apps that are all trusted)

    Makes me think this is a lemon and I should get Verizon to send me a new one before the 14 days are up.
    What do you think?
     

    Advertisement

  2. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    If there are issues like this it's not going to fix itself and will only cause frustration as time goes by. If you warrenty it now, you will probably get a new one, if you wait until after the 14 days, then you will get a "Certified..." used device.

    Call them today & get this taken care of. With my first Commando the proximity sensor stopped working after a few weeks which means no screen rotation, no compass, and no disabling of the screen when it was held up to my ear. I got it replaced and it the replacement worked fine until I screwed it up hacking on it. Now I have a brand new one ($478 after taxes).

    These are mass produced and there can be issues but probably no more than anything else.
     
  3. BLACKTOOTHGRIN

    BLACKTOOTHGRIN Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    297
    22
    38
    Professional Pain In The A$$
    South of Heavan
    I called Verizon a little while ago, and it's a good thing I did.
    That 14 days is really a big issue with them.
    They are going to send out another new one tomorrow,
    but I won't received it until Monday.
    They said to make sure and send this one back the very next day
    so they will receive it in time, otherwise they will charge me for the new one too.
    Typical :rolleyes:

    That would really suck to have the proximity go out,
    being that it's such an important screen function.
    My rotation is pretty slow compared to my enV Touch.
    (which seems very backwards to me)
    Makes me wonder if there's an issue with that too.

    So you jacked yours up by rooting?
    What was the final straw that bricked it?
    Just curious because I've toyed with the idea myself.
    Then you paid full retail for a new one?
    OUCH!
    Don't think I'll be considering it anymore.
     
  4. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    I replaced the libaudioflinger.so file in /system/lib/ trying to install the audio dsp that is used in the Cyanogenmod. The libaudioflinger.so file from Cyanogenmod is apparently not compatible with our stock ROM because it put me in a bootloop.

    Rooting is not the problem, it's what you can do after you have rooted that is the problem. It doesn't help any that there is no usable recovery console for these either.

    I guess the point is that if you do root, don't be messing around too much in the system area. It can cause some problems...
     
  5. BLACKTOOTHGRIN

    BLACKTOOTHGRIN Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    297
    22
    38
    Professional Pain In The A$$
    South of Heavan
    Gotcha.

    The only reason I would root, would be to get rid of all that damn bloatware.
    That stuff really aggravates the hell out of me.
    90% of the stuff they through on there, I'll never use.
    IMO, that's just wasted space that could have been used for good apps.

    Do you know of any way to change default app setting without rooting?
    For example:
    I have Google Maps & Navigation installed.
    When I put the phone into car mode and press navigation,
    it always loads VZ Navigator.
    I want it to load Google Navigation by default from Carr Mode.

    Another thing is to get the search soft key to bring up the Google search engine instead of Bing.
    What the F?
    It's a droid phone, not a windows phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...