1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Soft-MOD by MMXTREM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dudeman1996, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    MMXTREM from 4pda.ru has customised the original SwiftDroid ROM from Mur4ik:

    Added 3rd party apps:
    AppLanet
    Opera Mini
    Balanced
    QQPlayer
    MusicPlaer
    DroidWall
    Gmail
    Youtube
    Moon + Reader
    S2E
    WiFi Manager
    Balda
    Voice Search
    Calculator
    MyPhoneExplorer
    Documets to go
    Skype
    SystemAppRemover
    Advance Task Manager
    Fancy Widget
    Mail.ru Agent
    LauncherProPlus
    DioDict
    TypoClock
    Widget Posts
    Widget notes
    Widget frame for pictures
    LG Keyboard
    Yandex Maps
    Selecting the screen
    Spec. Features
    Fresh host
    New large pack of wallpapers (hi a_black_cat)
    Subject Senc (retouched interface)
    Were also modified some system files and widgets!
    New butanimatsiya.
    Updated some applications.

    Removed Apps:
    Twitter
    Facebook
    Terminal
    Spare Parts
    Development
    Androidify
    Google Maps
    Mini Music
    Google Voice
    Stardroid
    and more!

    Fix: Voice search button, camera, autofocus, LED network and Wi-Fi is now permanently green.

    Data - free, free space in the System - 68 megabytes (for manual installation of applications!)

    Screenshots (taken from 4pda.ru):
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    How to install:
    1. Download the Soft-ROM .zip file from here (MultiUpload) or here (MediaFire). Copy the folder inside the .zip file to SD Card/clockworkmod/backup. IMPORTANT, make sure that you do NOT put the contents of the 'Soft-MOD' folder into 'backup' you must put the Soft-ROM folder into the 'backup' folder so it looks like this: [​IMG]

    2. Reboot your device into recovery mode by holding the Home button and powering on the phone, making sure the power button is held whilst the LG logo shows. SwiftDroid v1.5+ users can hold the power button to bring up the phone options, then tap Reboot>Recovery>OK. If you don't have recovery installed, then follow the instructions here under the ClockworkMod Recovery section.

    3. Now you're in recovery, use the volume up and down buttons to navigate up and down the selections, the call button to select, and the power button to go back. Select backup & restore>backup. This will backup you're current ROM in case anything goes wrong, this could take a while.

    4. Now select backup & restore>restore>Soft-ROM>yes. Soft-ROM will now be installed. Press the power button to get back to the first screen and select reboot phone.

    5. You're phone will now reboot with Soft-ROM installed! Enjoy! :D
     

    Advertisement

    iRhyiku, YouTu_01 and choripan like this.
  2. choripan

    choripan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    Does this mean that Wi-Fi can't be turned off? Thanks!
     
  3. gazzz123

    gazzz123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    162
    12
    38
    Waterford Ireland
    no wifi icon stays green brfore it used to go white an green when it wished now it stays green :D
     
    choripan likes this.
  4. YouTu_01

    YouTu_01 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    286
    40
    43
    Trying to help people with tech Stuff
    Mexico
    does it still have the theme chooser?, i prefer mi icons blue, also what's not working on this ROM, the same things that don't work on SwiftDroid?
     
  5. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    Yeah it does, I haven't actually got it, but this is based on SwiftDroid, so it must be the same as it with just a few changes
     
  6. gazzz123

    gazzz123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    162
    12
    38
    Waterford Ireland
    im usin it it has theme chooser installed
    my bat has just hit 20% since half 11 last nite an im flat out on it all day :)
     
  7. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    haha, so whats the battery life like then? Same as SwiftDroid I'd imagine?
     
  8. gazzz123

    gazzz123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    162
    12
    38
    Waterford Ireland
    i was gettin 12/13 hrs from it without doin much but today i got about 20/21 an it hit 20% an that was downloadin apps all day didnt leave it down ounce:)
     
  9. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    So it's better than SwiftDroid?
     
  10. gazzz123

    gazzz123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    162
    12
    38
    Waterford Ireland
    battery have to say yes ive all same apps installed and i didnt receive the problem of switchin off yet either fingers crossed
     
  11. Rooferkev

    Rooferkev Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    245
    27
    43
    Male
    Should be easy to work out
    England
    Does this still have Google navigation?
    And is it east to change back to 2.1 if I don't like it?

    cheers
     
  12. choripan

    choripan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    I'm having a weird problem with the clock. Claro in Peru, where I live, doesn't automatically update time, so I use ClockSync, downloaded from the market. But with this ROM ClockSync is unable to contact the NTP servers. It throws an error every time I try, saying there is a network connection problem when none exists. I uninstalled DroidWall but no effect. Strange.

    PS - Everything else seems great. It's fast and I haven't had any problems with the late onset sluggishness that others have complained about.
     
  13. Praccy

    Praccy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    101
    9
    56
    I might give this a go a bit later, I really like Mur4ik 2.3.3 while running the honeycomb theme, but the battery life is beginning to annoy me, as I use my phone quite a bit and its nearly flat by late afternoon, so if the battery lasts longer with this ROM with less bugs i'm all for giving it a go.
     
  14. Praccy

    Praccy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    101
    9
    56
    How do you change he language in Launcher Pro as some of it is in Russian :)
     
  15. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    Yeah Navigation is still there and working, taken this from my other post:
    Restoring back to 2.1:
    If you are experiencing problems with the 2.3 ROM or just aren't to fond of it, you can restore back to 2.1 using this method (Thanks Djolle for the instructions!):

    Connect the phone via fastboot and type:
    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot.exe -w
    Then type:
    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot.exe reboot
    (as soon LG logo appear press and keep pressed volume down button and power button) - you'll get download mode, then connect to PC USB cable.

    Then flash original 2.1 ROM using KDZ_FW_UPD as normal (but you can do this from now on ONLY with fastboot enabled roms).

    (But why would you want to go back to 2.1 anyway? )

    I'm not sure if this works, but another method, is to upgrade to a 2.1 ROM with fastboot, then install recovery via fastboot, then use recovery to backup the 2.1 ROM.

    I think the recovery option is your best bet at going back. But once you get this ROM, you won't wanna go back :p
     
  16. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    No idea why it's doing that.. You got an internet connection?
     
  17. iRhyiku

    iRhyiku Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    164
    13
    38
    UK
    I tried to install this, and i got an error.
    "MD5 MISMATCH"
    What does this mean?
     
  18. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    In cryptography, MD5 (Message-Digest algorithm 5) is a widely used cryptographic hash function with a 128-bit (16-byte) hash value. Specified in RFC 1321, MD5 has been employed in a wide variety of security applications, and is also commonly used to check the integrity of files. However, it has been shown that MD5 is not collision resistant;[3] as such, MD5 is not suitable for applications like SSL certificates or digital signatures that rely on this property. An MD5 hash is typically expressed as a 32-digit hexadecimal number.

    Basically, try putting the phone in fastboot mode, then use fastboot to flash boot and system.img in the same way that you flash CM6 and CM7 :)
     
  19. iRhyiku

    iRhyiku Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    164
    13
    38
    UK
    :eek:
    I didnt understand much of that!
    Thanks, but i found the problem..
    Inside the soft-mod folder was a soft-mod folder...
    i just put everything in the second one in the first one and that worked -.-
    Silly me :p

    Thanks for trying to help though :)
     
  20. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    Ah right, nevermind then :p
     
  21. iRhyiku

    iRhyiku Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    164
    13
    38
    UK
    How can i make it so when the HOME button is pressed, it takes you to the home insted of doing nothing atall!
     
  22. dudeman1996

    dudeman1996 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,276
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    1,276
    264
    163
    London, UK
    It does nothing? Maybe that's a bug in the software, I don't use it, so I'm not really of much use.. :\
     
  23. dragoon4158

    dragoon4158 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    How come I can't connect to the internet using my network provider (t-mobile USA)? I already checked the "enable mobile data".
     
  24. Praccy

    Praccy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    101
    9
    56
    Have you entered the APN details for your network?
     
  25. ah43

    ah43 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011

    Jan 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    ive managed to upgrade my phone through repeated updates from 1.6 to 2.3.3 v1.5 swiftdroid always using fastboot with dudemans excellent tutorials.
    i am now wanting to try the soft mod by mmxtrem but am having problems flashing it through recovery. when i connect the phone to copy the zip/folder to the sd card the laptop doesnt recognize the card saying 'please insert disk into drive f', the sd card is mounted in the phone and connected via usb. i thought about trying to replace the system and boot img from swiftdroid with the extracted img's from soft mod and then flashing using fastboot but when i get to flash system img cmd says 'error cannot load system file'.
    as i said i have never applied any updates or roms through recovery so this method although looks quite easy is completely new to me, has anybody got any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...