• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

software development for a novice...

What I do when I want to study a new scripting lanuage is,

I first read through the basic commands of that language so that I have a global idea what the commando's are.

Then I grab a pre-scripted file and i start to read that and try to figure out what that person is trying to do with that piece of script.

Once you can read it, then it's time to edit files. Once you get the hang of that, you start an easy script on your own.

I'm not sure what scripting language you're going to learn but Photoshop Tutorials, Flash Tutorials and More! P2L Tutorial Search is a really good website.

Upvote 0
I'm not a professional and almost finished with getting my degree, but here's my opinion.

When you get the hang of one language, it's easier to learn other languages because most of the concept is the same. C++ is a good language to start at IMO.

If you want to take a look at some books, here is what I recommend.

C++ How to Program by Deitel
Murach's Java SE 6

Murach's book is great. It has example codes on almost every single page of the book and he also makes those codes available on his site.

Right now I'm taking an "advanced java" class (that's the actual name). Everything that I learned in C++ helped me a lot so right now I'm just cruising through the class. Just don't make it harder than it needs to be. I did that a lot in data structures now that I think back, but that's a different story.

Upvote 0