1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Software Update Error - Server Unavailable

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Nakhon7, Jun 20, 2011.

  1. Nakhon7

    Nakhon7 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Grad student
    Houston, TX
    Hello all, I was wondering if anyone else was experiencing this problem. For the past 4 or 5 days, my phone has not been able to update. I go to Menu > Settings > ATT Software Update > Check for Updates. After I do this, the phone searches for about a minute, and then returns the following message: Error - Server Unavailable.

    I have tried several soft resets. I am able to access the HTC Wi-Fi Software Update. My phone is not rooted. I have chatted with ATT customer support, but all they recommended was a master reset. I'd rather not lose all my saved data. Thanks so much for any help or suggestions!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ninja_reject

    ninja_reject Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    536
    83
    98
    Are you trying to get the ability to sideload apps? Trying to update manually will do nothing. I think it gives that message when it is confused, mine did that when I was waiting on the update. You have to talk with customer service, and get ahold of tech support. They will push the update through to you. Or do the ATT support chat online. I heard it works even faster.
     
    Nakhon7 likes this.
  3. Gilbert120

    Gilbert120 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I am having the same issue and CS doesn't seem to be able to do anything. Their solution is that it is a phone problem so they want to replace my phone. [​IMG] Has anyone figured out what is going on!??:thinking:
     
  4. Nakhon7

    Nakhon7 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Grad student
    Houston, TX
    Thanks for the suggestions. I never found out what the problem was - this issue ended up pushing me to root (finally). It went very well, and I am enjoying Android Revolution HD now - no more problems and sideloading is enabled!
     
  5. Nakhon7

    Nakhon7 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Grad student
    Houston, TX
    @Gilbert - Customer support gave me the same answer after a long, long chat. I went ahead and rooted the phone to enable sideloading. Got rid of ATT's bloatware as an added bonus.
     
  6. froggy87

    froggy87 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    6
    0
    25
  7. jrod0910

    jrod0910 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    How do I root my HTC Inspire? Any help would be appreciated...Thanks
     
  8. sharksfan7

    sharksfan7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    286
    62
    73
    San Diego, CA
    All the information you need to root is already available here. No need for anyone to explain it again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...