1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

General Software Update forces me to use Swype

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by John Jason, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. John Jason

    John Jason Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #569
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    302
    33
    43
    I'm supposed to have a job?
    Portland, left side North America
    SGS2, stock, 2.6.35.11-1209942, Gingerbread UVLDH

    I can't stand Swype. I want Thinkbuttons. But since the last software update all I can use is Swype. When I go into Language and Keyboard there is no option to disable it. Thickbuttons is listed, and I checked it, but the keyboard is still always Swype.

    If I go into Applications > Manage > All I find it, but when I select it there is no uninstall option. My only choices are Force Stop and Clear Data. There are buttons for Cancel, Move to SD Card, Clear Cache and Clear Defaults, but they are all grayed out.

    The keyboard in all applications is now Swype. Before I throw this phone off a bridge, someone please, please, tell me how to get rid of it. I'll even root the phone if that's what it takes.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    Hi John. I can't really remember that gingerbread. Its pretty old now. I would really recommend updating to the last version of ICS, ICS 4.0.4 UVLI4. You can follow this guide to do that.

    I think Swype is probably a system app so you can't delete it. I'm not sure why you can't change it.
     
  3. jgreetham

    jgreetham Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    202
    19
    58
    I don't remember about options for 2.6 either. On 4.0.4 there is a setting for Default keyboard. I set that to the one I want to use most often.
     
    Atma likes this.
  4. Bandaid

    Bandaid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011

    Aug 13, 2011
    291
    57
    53
    Limo Driver
    New York
    Is this what your looking for GB 2.3.6? Settings/Language and keyboard/select input method and now you should have the option for both Samsung Keypad and SwiftKey.
     

Share This Page

Loading...