1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Software update in Chinese

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fairhsa, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. fairhsa

    fairhsa Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    9
    0
    25
    Hong Kong
    The "Software Update" disclaimer keeps popping up on my phone, wanting me to agree to something.
    All the HEADINGS are in English (e.g. Terms and Conditions, Privacy Policy) and the box at the bottom (I accept all the terms above) is also in English, but the body of the disclaimer is in Chinese.

    It's DRIVING ME CRAZY.

    ALL MY LANGUAGE SETTINGS ARE SET TO ENGLISH.

    I have emailed Samsung. They told me to set my language settings to English.
    I refer you to the bold above, which I told them in my email.

    I have PHONED Samsung. They told me to set my language settings to English.
    Again, per bold above, which I told them. So they said if my language settings are in English then the disclaimer will be in English. Which was NOT HELPFUL.

    Does anyone know the answer to this? It's really annoying. I cannot believe how completely USELESS the customer service was. Do they not bother to actually READ the emails we send them?

    EDIT: It'a a small Note (original one, not a version 2). Carrier Smartone but they are not linked. Based in Hong Kong and purchased in Hong Kong (the origin of the problem I suspect).
     

    Advertisement

  2. fairhsa

    fairhsa Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    9
    0
    25
    Hong Kong
    So, my friend told me my CSC is set to HK and Taiwan and that is why this is happening. Can anyone else confirm this or tell me how to modify it (without killing the phone - zero technical knowledge here)
     
  3. Howard Hopkinson

    Howard Hopkinson Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    617
    200
    113
  4. rcheung28

    rcheung28 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    79
    8
    16
    Since you know which button is "I accept", can't you just press that and let the update carry on?
     

Share This Page

Loading...