1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Software Update! MS77010d (30.39MB)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mattyinmotion, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. mattyinmotion

    mattyinmotion Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012

    Nov 5, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Apparently there's a software update for the Motion... new version is MS77010d. Anyone try it yet?

    Edit: Just to clarify, it's the software update in settings>about phone>software update, not from metro.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dewolfe09

    dewolfe09 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    May 1, 2012

    May 1, 2012
    47
    5
    16
    Kalamazoo, MI
    I tried it but it gave an error message when it tried to install because I'm rooted
     
  3. Matthew83

    Matthew83 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012

    Aug 13, 2012
    251
    54
    73
    Male
    Southern California
    I'm rooted but it updated just fine. Though I was worried for a moment or two since it seemed like it was stuck on the LG Logo screen for a long, long time. I have no idea what it updated and I'm too tired right now to test things out.
     
  4. robertkoa

    robertkoa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    257
    21
    38
    Male
    Available for download is software version MS 77O10D.

    I'm wondering if this will put my stock 1.5 Ghz Motion back to 1.2 Ghz which I don't think I want to do.

    Any way to find out what enhancements this update includes?

    Edit; I did the Software Update and noticed the new software version uses more RAM ,

    Seems to have changed the Internet Browser slightly-not quite as stable .

    Used to get multiple tabs when going from one site then to another- now I must open new tabs manually -better before with version c software IMO.

    I've also had instances of Browser just snapping back to Google Homepage for no reason which NEVER happened on original version c software and Browser is slower, jumpier generally.

    So IMO it's a software downgrade .

    Definitely uses more RAM just to run phone and my battery life is lower.

    Just lowered performance overall about 10%- sent all issues to LG hopefully fixed in

    -version "e ".

    I asked if I could just download software C again and they said they don't offer that.

    I should have stayed on 77010c.

    It did not clock me down to 1.2 Ghz-still at 1.5.
     
    sandpipershore likes this.
  5. ymcmbsalute

    ymcmbsalute Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012

    Apr 2, 2012
    50
    1
    16
    I updated and I don't notice anything new but an app called play magazines lol pretty lame if you ask me. So no jelly bean just yet ! I have a feeling maybe in the future we might get an Android version update.
     
  6. jamesmania88

    jamesmania88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012

    Sep 20, 2012
    299
    15
    38
    Me and my wife downloaded it and It's not jelly bean I can tell you that. I'm not sure what it is to be honest it didn't give any information except how I wanted to download it?
     
  7. SuperRad

    SuperRad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012

    Nov 5, 2012
    5
    1
    6
    Male
    So far the only things that seem new are the 'Play Magazines' and the 'Play Movies' apps. Not sure if that's all the update was, though.
     
  8. Diego1593

    Diego1593 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    491
    46
    43
    Male
    MA
    Dallas, Texas
    I guess it update our connection drivers or something because my internet speed increase to around 7mbs from 3mbs its really fast
     
  9. reyreyrey

    reyreyrey Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 28, 2012

    May 28, 2012
    27
    4
    16
    Male
    eustis,fl
    you wont lose your root or the capabilities to re-root for what ever reason you can upgrade with out fear.. :)
     
  10. chicle

    chicle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    164
    25
    43
    FYI, it doesn't charge the cpu speed. I still have 1.5 available, though I underclock to 918.

    I don't use the phone for games or Web browsing (much... :)) so I don't notice a difference, and my battery life seems better.
     
  11. robertkoa

    robertkoa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    257
    21
    38
    Male
    My Motion is not rooted but it is 1.5 Ghz as many are .

    So if I download the Software Upgrade - will it lower the CPU to the original factory spec. of 1.2 Ghz?

    Will there be any benefits to the Upgrade ?

    Seems like everything works well now without it ....

    What do you guys think it improves ?
     
  12. chicle

    chicle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    164
    25
    43
    CPU speed won't change, read the posts above.
     
  13. TheGoodMan

    TheGoodMan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012

    Aug 26, 2012
    73
    3
    16
    Transporter
    California
    I just tried to update. I got an error message. Then a notification saying it cant update to the phone being rooted.
     
    sandpipershore likes this.
  14. bluesuga

    bluesuga Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    87
    11
    18
    Orlando FL
    Does this update take the free hotspot away? When I had the lg connect I only received one update and that's what it did.
     
  15. Carol2

    Carol2 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    35
    6
    26
    Female
    Jacksonville, Florida
    I am not rooted yet - haven't had time - and the update worked fine for me. Two new apps: "Play Movies & TV" and "Play Magazines". The update did take quite a long time to install and had two reboots (self-performed), I think. One of the long install periods was after the first reboot.

    Carol
     
    chicle likes this.
  16. chicle

    chicle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    164
    25
    43
  17. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Most likely was just a fix for some issue it had. I doubt very seriously Metro pays to upgrade the Motion to 4.1. ;)
     
  18. adanmex

    adanmex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #326
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    474
    51
    73
    Male
    Marie Callender's Corporate test kitchen chef
    San jose shark city
    now updated and now cant root. the app lg back up wont install and says out of space and takes me to manage apps
     
  19. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    I already have Play Movies and Magazines and I haven't updated...
     
  20. nizlovelots

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    269
    40
    43
    well thats not it because my wife and me get the same speeds one rooted one not. the rooted one does not have the update, the non rooted with the update score the same on the speedtest.net app.
     
  21. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Anyone know what this update fixes? I'd hate to unroot, update, then go to reroot only to find the update broke root and clocked me down to 1.2GHz.
     
  22. martyn357

    martyn357 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    83
    17
    18
    I tried to update and got this
    :mad::mad::mad:

    FYI, wifes Motion is not rooted...updated to software version MS77010d, I am still MS77010c
     
  23. Johnny Crapple

    Johnny Crapple Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    1,017
    254
    183
    Texas
    Idk about that other stuff but I am still at 1.5ghz

    Sent from my typewriter.
     
  24. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    yeah, we just finished updating my girls phone too. They remain at 1.5 gigahertz. Besides the letter change on the version number, I don't see any other changes on the surface.
     
  25. Nintendo1889

    Nintendo1889 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #377
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    395
    64
    63
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...