1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Software-Update running all the time

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rouce, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. rouce

    rouce Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Hey there
    Today I installed the new Android ICS update on my sgs2. But since I installed the update the Software-Update tries to connect to a server.

    I installed the update over the Mobile information (guess its called so, using the German language) > Software-Update > search for updates.

    If I try to manually check for updates when the symbol for the Software-Update isn't displayed in the title bar, I get an errormessage concerning there might be a networkerror or servererror.

    Does anybody know this problem? It's freaking me out -.-


    Regards
    rouce
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rush

    Rush {<>}~{<>}
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    18,741
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    18,741
    3,162
    1,043
    Male
    Entrepreneur / Business Owner - Freelance Writer
    Loganville, GA
    Hi rouce.. :)

    What carrier are you on? I'm guessing you have the international version of the Samsung Galaxy S2. I would like to steer you in the right direction where you'll most likely get help.
     
    rouce likes this.
  3. rouce

    rouce Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Yes I got an international version

    Modell: GT-I9100
    Version: 4.0.3
    Basisbandversion: I9100XXLPQ
    Kernel: 3.0.15-I9100XXLPQ-CL223505 se.infra@SEP-94 #3
    Buildnumber: IML74K.XXLPQ
     
  4. Rush

    Rush {<>}~{<>}
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    18,741
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    18,741
    3,162
    1,043
    Male
    Entrepreneur / Business Owner - Freelance Writer
    Loganville, GA
    Okay, I've moved it to where it can be seen by other users of the same device. Hopefully someone will chime in to assist you.
     
    rouce likes this.
  5. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    You will need to root it and Freeze or Uninstall the Software Update application. Looks like an unofficial firmware. They all contained the persistent Software Update bug.
     
    rouce likes this.
  6. rouce

    rouce Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    after rooting... how do I freeze the software-update? Is there some file to change or something like this?
     
  7. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    You need to download Titanium Backup. Then open it and find the list of applications you have installed. Scroll down to the ones called Software Update and then 'Freeze' them.
     
    rouce likes this.
  8. rouce

    rouce Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Thank you it worked!
     
  9. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    You are welcome. :)
     
  10. rocking23nf

    rocking23nf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    hmm im getting "root access failed" when trying this solution.
     
  11. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Is your phone rooted?
     
  12. rocking23nf

    rocking23nf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    well I have a Bell Canada phone and they have never released an update, so i grabbed a 4.0.3 update that matched my CSC code and used Odin to apply it.

    Everything is fine except that software update that wont go away.
     
  13. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Yeah, you need to root the software and then follow the steps I posted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...