1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support SOLVED Virtual Device

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Martin W, Apr 10, 2016.

  1. Martin W

    Martin W Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016

    Apr 10, 2016
    5
    0
    5
    Hello,
    I can't make a Virtual Device. The error is "this computer does not support intel virtualization technology".
    I googled it and I found some things that solved it for other developers. I tried everything but it still didn't work. Then I went to the BIOS and tried to enable it but I didn't find anything about "virtualization".
    Why is this?
    Do you need anymore information?
    Thanks

     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,654
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,654
    13,642
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Are you using Oracle Virtual Box or Parallels or something? Sounds like your PC doesn't support "Intel® VT". Some computers just don't, which means they can't run Virtual Box and virtual machines in it, and have to find another PC that can.
    PC manufacturers can deliberately disable VT, even if the CPU supports VT. Some cheap Intel Atom netbooks were like that.

    What PC or laptop have you actually got there, and in particular, what's the CPU in it, e.g. Pentium, Celeron, Core I, AMD Athlon, Atom, etc.?
     
    #2 mikedt, Apr 10, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
  3. Martin W

    Martin W Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016

    Apr 10, 2016
    5
    0
    5
    AMD
    ASRock
    Or do you mean something else? If you do please tell me where I can find that.
    Thanks
     
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,654
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,654
    13,642
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    "something else", meaning what virtual machine or virtual device software are you actually using there, e.g. Virtual Box, Parallels, etc?

    But then if the PC doesn't support Intel VT, which is what it sounds like given the error you're getting, frankly there's nothing you can do, apart from upgrading the motherboard and processor, or the whole PC to one that can, that's it.

    ASRock makes motherboards and complete machines, what's the model number of your PC? What exact AMD processor has it got? Because older AMD processors don't support VT, which was licensed by Intel to them. You must have VT support in the processor for virtual device software to work
     
    #4 mikedt, Apr 11, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2016
  5. Martin W

    Martin W Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016

    Apr 10, 2016
    5
    0
    5
    I want to make it in Eclipse. HAX kernel. Sorry if this isn't what you meant I don't know much about virtual devices.
    AMD 2800
    Thank you
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Only 64-bit AMD processors support virtualisation (via AMD-V) afaik. Your "2800" will be a 32-bit variant based on the Thunderbird or Barton core and therefore isn't compatible.
     
    svim likes this.
  7. Martin W

    Martin W Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016

    Apr 10, 2016
    5
    0
    5
    My computer is 64 bit.
    Do I have to install Virtual Box?
    How can I quote someone, thanks!
     
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,654
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,654
    13,642
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I believe you've got an Athlon XP series processor, and it does NOT support Intel VT. Doesn't matter if it's 32 or 64 bit. Athlon XP is actually now discontinued by AMD.

    To me the message "this computer does not support intel virtualization technology" was very conclusive. FYI this is what the error was referring to.
    http://www.intel.com/content/www/us...chnology/intel-virtualization-technology.html

    Basically if you want to have VT support, and to be able to use virtual machines and virtual devices, you're gonna have to upgrade your PC, the processor and mainboard at least. That's it, no other way.
     
    #8 mikedt, Apr 11, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2016
  9. Martin W

    Martin W Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016

    Apr 10, 2016
    5
    0
    5

Share This Page

Loading...