1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Some help for an Android Noob

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ace0022, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. ace0022

    ace0022 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Systems Engineer
    Deltona
    Hi guys and gals!

    I could really use some help. I'm new to the android OS but not to PDA's in general. I might be dating myself but I started way back with the sharp organizers and then the Palm pilots and pretty much have had them all. Even the fruity themed rubber band needing phone...

    Anyway, I got 2 nexus one's, one for me and one for my wife. Coolest phone ever! We are running into some storage issues and would love some help in figuring out what to do to alleviate that. I have seen people swore to have connected the nexus to a pc with HTC Sync and after 4 hours, I'm not any closer on connecting it than I was before connecting it.

    (HTC Sync on Nexus One with r24 (Edit: Working) - Android @ MoDaCo)

    Reason being I tried to get it working is because this post supposedly works on installing apps on the SD instead of the main memory storage; which lets face it, isn't much for a serious user.

    (http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/174345-how-move-apps-sd-card-unrooted-device-noobs-guide.html)

    Any help or guidance would be most appreciated.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. shttw

    shttw Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    36
    2
    36
    Fellow noob here but when using HTC synch even with HTC wildfire you have to put the phone in USB Debug mode. Maybe you have to do the same with Nexus?

    Try it under: SETTINGS - APPLICATIONS - DEVELOPMENT

    On Froyo 2.2 you can move Apps to SD card anyway, as long as move to SD is supported.

    You should have 2.2 by now. SETTINGS - ABOUT PHONE
     
  3. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    HTC Sync has nothing to do with moving your apps to the SD card, so don't worry about that.

    What you need to do is grab the Android SDK and use a simple ADB command with your phone connected to the PC with USB Debugging enabled:

    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell pm setInstallLocation 2
    Then you're done.
     
  4. mkrmec

    mkrmec Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    236
    10
    38
    move the apps manualy

    menu > settings > Applications > manage apps > select any app you want and press the move to SD card button..
     
  5. ace0022

    ace0022 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Systems Engineer
    Deltona

    Thanks for the quick reply guys!

    Before I do this, anything that I have to do to the sd card before doing that? You know like format it or something? Also, what about the stuff that's already there, will i loose it? I mean I can back up the stuff, so it's not a big deal and then copy it over...

    (Yes, I am on Froyo and have moved the 4 or 5 apps that can be moved with the Manage Application settings, except I have about 15 or 20 that won't transfer.)
     
  6. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    You don't have to do anything at all, doesn't effect anything other than your ability to move apps.
     
  7. ace0022

    ace0022 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Systems Engineer
    Deltona
    OMG! Good lord! TY TY TY TY TY TY TY! Worked like a charm! TY so much! Did I mention TY!?
     
  8. ace0022

    ace0022 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Systems Engineer
    Deltona
    One final question, I'm guessing if I want things to go back to the way they where, just use the same command but replace the 2 with a 1?
     
  9. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    Almost, you replace the 2 with a 0 (not that I can think of a reason to do that)

    0 = Auto
    1 = Internal Storage
    2 = External Storage
     
  10. ace0022

    ace0022 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010

    Oct 1, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Systems Engineer
    Deltona

    More curiosity than anything else! :D


    Thanks! I was able to free up almost 100 megs of internal storage! Thanks again!
     
  11. safeplayer22

    safeplayer22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    109
    11
    48
    Brooklyn, NYC
    If you are rooted, then you can set everytime you install a NEW app, it will be installed in the sdcard instead of having to do this manually.
     
  12. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
    That's what we've just done, and you don't need root for it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...