1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Some S7 SD Card & Camera Questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by peterh337, Mar 25, 2016.

  1. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #279
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    290
    18
    48
    Male
    I cannot find out these bits anywhere...

    1) What is the SD card specification? I reckon it will be the same problem as with any of the 4k action cams, on which most SD cards don't work at 4k (or even the 1080P 60fps high bit rate modes). Samsung don't say...

    2) The S6 (which I now have) has no video stabilisation above 30FPS so e.g. 1080P 60FPS is unstabilised (and very jittery if handheld). The S7, reading between the lines, appears to have stabilisation at 60FPS but the spec doesn't actually say so. But probably neither phone stabilises at 4k. None of the action cams do either - my Sony FDR-1000V doesn't stabilise above 1080, but at 1080P 60FPS totally trashes the S6 on video quality. I have some videos here: https://vimeo.com/user8026275/videos

    3) I am going to root it, so won't be able to apply OS updates afterwards. And will probably not be able to return it if there is a hardware issue. How long do the experts here think I should wait for the initial batch of S7s to get sold? A few months?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,511
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,511
    23,919
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
  3. jason359

    jason359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016

    Mar 13, 2016
    112
    18
    48
    Male
    1. I am using an SanDisk 200 GB SD card and it doesn't seem to have any problem recording or playing back 4K.
    2. It says in the settings: Video stabilization will be unavailable while recording in UHD, 1:1, VGA resolution. I experimented a little and it allows you to turn it on at 1080p(60 fps) but I don't see if it actually is working or not, sorry.
    3. I have no idea.
    Hope that helps a little.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  4. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #279
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    290
    18
    48
    Male
    Which actual SD card did you buy?

    On the S6, stabilisation on/off is greyed out in the 1080 60FPS mode and above.

    However, it would be interesting to see if it does anything much anyway, and whether the S7 improves it. I have been doing some tests and there is little evidence the S6 stabilisation works.
     
  5. jason359

    jason359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016

    Mar 13, 2016
    112
    18
    48
    Male
    I bought this one off Amazon:

    SanDisk Ultra 200GB Micro SD (SDSDQUAN-200G-G4A)

    It was on sale at the time. I think it is listed for $79.99 if you dig for it.
     
  6. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #279
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    290
    18
    48
    Male
    Thanks - I found it. That P/N references a 128GB and a 200GB one, with the data rates listed at 80 and 90mbytes/sec respectively (why?). It also costs way more than USD 80 :)

    I had a close look at a S7 in a shop today.

    In the stock camera app config, stabilisation is greyed out for the 4k modes and available on all others including the "half 4k" or whatever it is called.

    The resolution of the camera is visibly less good than the S6, which is to be expected, but you have to zoom right in to see it, and most people would never spot it unless they looked for it. The low light performance is better and without a doubt it is a better camera all around.

    I will leave it for a couple of months before buying the S7, which should give Samsung time to roll out critical fixes.
     
  7. jason359

    jason359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016

    Mar 13, 2016
    112
    18
    48
    Male
    That SD card should be in the "deal of the day" somewhere. Just go to that page and keep looking. I haven't tried the 128 GB one and I don't know if it is fast enough or not.

    As far as the camera goes, I don't see anything wrong with it. I never had an S6 to compare it to, I came from an iPhone 5. I think it is good enough. I won't be shooting any Hollywood productions on it, but it more than suffices for my needs. Good luck and I hope if you get one you will report back how you like it. :)
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  8. pipe1x

    pipe1x Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    1
    1
    16
    Male
    I've tried the 128 GB and it works just fine. I had to Youtube it to see which type of SD card would be the best fit for my S7. They're not that expensive compared to the 200GB one and 128 GB is more than what you need unless you plan on putting all of your music in your smartphone.

    Here are both the links to the video I watched and where I purchased my SD card if you're interested! :)



    http://www.amazon.com/UHS-1-Amplim-...ef_=as_sl_pc_qf_sp_asin_til&tag=kipventure-20
     
    jason359 likes this.
  9. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #279
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    290
    18
    48
    Male
    Can S7 owners report on any problems they had?
    One issue reported online (no idea how common it is - online reports exxagerate the negatives a lot) is that the wifi doesn't work unless you disable bluetooth, or change wifi to 5GHz (useless for most people).
    Another is that the camera doesn't work properly.
     
  10. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    S7 edge, I use 5ghz wifi at home and the bluetooth works fine along side it, no issues with any functions of the camera either.
     
  11. jason359

    jason359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016

    Mar 13, 2016
    112
    18
    48
    Male
    I have a problem with my S7 where it doesn't stay connected to my 5Ghz band on my router for very long. Solved that by connecting to the 2.4 Ghz band(seperate SSID's and Passwords). Now it stays connected to my router. It usually starts off on the 5 Ghz band and then switches to the 2.4 Ghz. I haven't had any problems since. I do have an issue with the phone where swiping clear notifications on the lock screen doesn't remove the notification from the notification bar at the top of the screen and the always on display. I then have to take an extra step to go into whatever app is notifying me and check it there. Only then does it disappear. Those are the only two issues I have with the phone. I haven't found a solution to problem #2 yet.
     
  12. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    I did have that issue with it for some reason preferring to use the 2.4ghz band, but i solved that by making it forget the settings for the 2.4ghz band, then it was fine and now stays connected to the 5ghz band.

    If you use different SSID names for each band i think it helps ;)
     
    jason359 likes this.
  13. jason359

    jason359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016

    Mar 13, 2016
    112
    18
    48
    Male
    Did you reboot before reconnecting?
     
  14. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    Nope.
     
    jason359 likes this.
  15. jason359

    jason359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016

    Mar 13, 2016
    112
    18
    48
    Male
    That didn't do it. It says on the phone under the 5Ghz band "Internet not available" but it likes the 2.4 Ghz. I wonder if it is the phone or the router? Other devices don't seem to have this problem......
     
  16. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    So it's connected or not?
     
  17. jason359

    jason359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016

    Mar 13, 2016
    112
    18
    48
    Male
    Yes, it's connected to the 2.4 band. It disconnects itself from the 5 band after a few minutes.
     
  18. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    Strange, so maybe it doesn't like your router over 5ghz only?

    Try a network settings reset, which will wipe all your wifi/mobile/bluetooth settings and retry?

    Failing that, is the router's firmware up to date, i use an Asus one fwiw.
     
    jason359 likes this.
  19. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #279
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    290
    18
    48
    Male
    The 5GHz solution has been proposed because 2.4GHz wifi is close to bluetooth, and they interfere inside the phone. Using 5GHz wifi is supposed to eliminate that. But it's not a solution in general because most wifi access points out and about are not 5GHz.
     
    jason359 likes this.
  20. jason359

    jason359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016

    Mar 13, 2016
    112
    18
    48
    Male
    I will try a network settings reset when I get back from dinner tonight. I have an Asus router, too, the N66 one and I haven't had any issues with it. The firmware was up to date as of yesterday. I might check again tonight. And peterh337, sorry to hijack your thread!!!!
     
  21. peterh337

    peterh337 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #279
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    290
    18
    48
    Male
    No hijack - it's all 100% relevant to my last Q in the original post.

    I have seen this elsewhere. For example Ipads had loads of wifi issues, though Apple would say it was caused by the access points having dodgy software. At one time, IOS clients used to chuck away their lease and do a fresh DHCP every 10 seconds or so, the explanation being that it results in a good "user experience" for highly mobile people drifting from one coffee bar to the next... this crashed many routers and there were lots of firmware updates for routers. Basically Apple tested their stuff with their own ones and with Cisco ones. The rest were declared "edge cases" by Jobs.

    But Samsung should not be doing this. I have an S6 which "just works" everywhere I go.
     
  22. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    Mines a RT-N56U, so your issue is even stranger :s
     
  23. jason359

    jason359 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016

    Mar 13, 2016
    112
    18
    48
    Male
    Well, I tried a reset of the network settings and no dice...
     
  24. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
  25. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    Have you turned off the smart network switch?
     

Samsung Galaxy S7

The Samsung Galaxy S7 was launched in 2016 and was one of two devices in the lineup. The device features a 5.1-inch display with a resolution of 2560 x 1440, 4GB of RAM, 32GB of storage, and a 12MP rear camera.

Share This Page

Loading...