1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Somebody please help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by spamlewin, Jun 16, 2011.

1. spamlewin

spamlewin Newbie
    None

Jun 15, 2011
    So I rooted my LG Ally running 2.2.3. I used GingerBreak V 1.1 (or something like that). After, I downloaded some app called ClockWork Mod. It sounded pretty cool (the whole ROM thing fascinates me). I downloaded a rom called Dapper Duck 1.4. It completely screwed up my phone. I'm stuck in the boot cycle. I see the LG logo. Next, I see the naimated Verison thing, and about a second into that, it shut off, and repeated it. I started freaking out, and desperately looking up solutions. I am looking for a tutorial (preferably video, as I'm new to this, although a simple step by step explanation willl be just as good). any help can be greatly appreciated. Oh, BTW, I'm looking to "flash a stock rom" to my phone. Any version will be good, as long as it's standard "Verizon" software. I tried a tutorial by death2all110,a nd I got nothing but a few errors and a software application with a bunch of question marks. PLEASE HELP ME!

PS: The tutorial in question that didn't work is here: http://androidforums.com/ally-all-things-root/257859-unbrick-lg-ally-updated-3-2-2011-a.html

So please dont send me there.

Advertisement

2. cr5315

cr5315 Android Enthusiast
    None

Jul 23, 2010
    Narnia
    Hit the link in my sig for the IRC. It's a big chatroom with people who can help.

Dapper Duck is a rom from the old days. Back when the Ally ran android 2.1. now it runs 2.2. You can't flash a 2.1 rom when you're running 2.2. That's why your phone got bricked.

spamlewin likes this.
  3. KingOfGreen

KingOfGreen Android Expert
    None

Nov 3, 2010
    Chandler, Az